Haughton with Serlby, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Haughton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Haughton with Serlby, Nottinghamshire|
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HOUGHTON, a parish, in the union of East-Retford, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3¾ miles (N. W. by W.) from Tuxford. The inhabitants attend divine service in the neighbouring church of Walesby. 
Haughton was created a ancient chapelry in the ancient parish of Walesby. In 1694, the chapel was abandoned and fell into ruin and was never rebuilt. Ecclesiastically, the parish from about the year 1700 had been annexed to and was served by the vicar of Walesby Parish [which see]. Also search other surrounding parishes for records and information such as Elksley and Bothamsall parishes.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Fulwood is an extra parochial place.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Fulwood
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..