Haverhill, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Haverhill, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Haverhill, Essex
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford; Risbridge
County Essex, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Risbridge
Registration District Risbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clare
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Haverhill, is a small town, a parish, and subdistrict, in Risbridge district, Suffolk and Essex. The town stands on a head stream of the River Stour, and on the Colne Valley and Cambridge railway, 1 3/4 miles E of the boundary with Cambridgeshire, and 13 1/4 miles NW of Halstead. There are four dissenting chapels.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Haverhill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1538-1997 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
ANC = Essex, England, Select Church of England Parish Registers, 1518-1960 (Ancestry) - ($)
FMP = Essex Baptism, Marriage, Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
MyH PRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (MyHeritage) - ($)
TGEN = Essex Parish Records (TheGenealogist) - ($)[2]
ESSEX = EssexAncestors - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Haverhill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1997
1538-1997
1538-1997
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
ANC 1518-1960
1518-1960
1518-1960
FMP 1538-1917
1538-1900
1530-1950
MyH PRs 1538-1900
1538-1900
1538-1900
TGEN 1537-1900s
1537-1900s
1538-1900s
ESSEX
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-2000
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Haverhill (Suffolk) on Genuki

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted: date accessed 21 May 2013.
  2. Searching Parish Records online (Essex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
  3. ArcherSoftware.co.uk