|Hawaii Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
Online Hawaii indexes and images[edit | edit source]
|Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Hawaii|
|Free||Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)*||Pay|
|Internet Archive||Misc.||Heritage Quest||Fold3||Ancestry FHL||Ancestry Library||Ancestry Home||Archives||Family Link|
|Family Search||Internet Archive||Misc.||Heritage Quest||Fold3||Ancestry FHL||Ancestry Library||Ancestry Home||Archives||Family Link|
|Free||Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)||Pay|
|1930||1900 and Soundex|
|1920 and Soundex|
|1940 N/A||1910 T624|
|1930 T626||1900 T623 and Soundex T1041|
|1920 T625 and Soundex M1598|
Federal population schedules[edit | edit source]
Microfilm images[edit | edit source]
- 1930 Agriculture census schedule
Indexes: fiche, film, or book[edit | edit source]
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Hawaii, click here
State, territorial, republic, and kingdom Censuses[edit | edit source]
Hawaii took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family. Census Collection 1840-1896 Hawaii State Archives
- 1896 Republic census. Honolulu only.
- 1890 Kingdom census.</ref>
- 1878 Kingdom census. Hawaii, Maui, Oahu only.</ref>
- 1866 Kingdom census. Mostly Maui.</ref>
The 1878, 1890, and 1896 censuses are available at the Hawaii State Archives and the Family History Library (Family History Library films 1010681-88). The Hawaii State Archives also has two "census files," 1840 to 1866 and 1847 to 1866, which contain miscellaneous records such as school censuses, population lists, and vital record summaries. The Family History Library has the 1840 to 1866 file on microfilm 1009896 item 1-2.
Existing and lost censuses[edit | edit source]
For a list of available and missing Hawaii censuses, click here.
Why use a census?[edit | edit source]
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses[edit | edit source]
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
References and footnotes[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
- Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 36.
- Emily Anne Croom, The Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook (Cincinnati, Ohio: Betterway Books, 1994)[], 39.
- Hawaii, Bureau of Customs, "Census records, 1878-1896" (Salt Lake City: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1977; Microfilm of originals made at the Archives of Hawaii, Honolulu)[FHL Film 1010681-88].
- Hawaii, Bureau of Customs, "Census file, 1840-1866" and "Census file, 1847-1896" (Salt Lake City: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1976; Microfilm of originals made at the Archives of Hawaii, Honolulu)[FHL Film 1009896].