Hawaii Colonial Records
|Hawaii Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1922- Hawaii Marriages
- 1839-1970 - Hawaii, Kalawao, Kaluapapa Indexes relating to patients with Hansen's disease. Images, and some indexes.
- 1840-1866 - Census file. Images only.
- 1841-1896 - Registers of birth, marriage and death on the island of Hawaii. Images, and some indexes.
- 1843-1909- Hawaii, Births and Baptisms. Index and images.
- 1844-1865 - Register of marriages performed on the island of Hawaii. Index and images.
- 1844-1900; index, 1845-1917 - Deeds and other records (Hawaii). Images, and some indexed.
- 1845-1900; indexes 1814-1917 - Probate records. Images only.
- 1846-1900 - Marriage certificates and licenses, island of Hawaii. Index and images.
- 1847-1896 - Census file. Images only.
- 1848-1916 - probate records. Images, and partially indexed.
- 1852-1933 - Hawaii Births and Christenings. Index.
- ca. 1859-1903 ; Index, ca. 1859-ca. 1938 - Delayed birth registrations. Images only.
- 1861-1892 - Reports of burials, Kingdom of Hawaii. Index and images.
- 1862-1919- Hawaii Deaths and Burials. Index.
- 1863-1897 - Church records, 1863-1898, on the island of Kauai. Episcopal Church. Images only.
- 1865-1896 - Kauai County, Hawaii births, marriages and deaths. Images, and some indexes.
- 1867-1901 - Baptisms. Christ Church (Kealakekua, Hawaii : Protestant Episcopal). Images only.
- 1874-1898 - Hawaii, Passport Records. Index and images.
- 1878-1896 - Census records. Images only.
- 1878-1937 - Church records. St. Augustine Episcopal Church (Kohala, Hawaii)]. Images only.
- Hawaiian records. Images only. Written in Hawaiian. Chants composed for kings, chiefs, princesses, places and events of the period of the monarchy -- Genealogies of leading chiefs -- Collection of various newspaper clippings dealing with people, events, biographies, genealogies, etc.
- Hawaii State Archives Digital Collections.
History[edit | edit source]
European contact with the people of the Hawaii islands is believed to have first occurred with Captain James Cook in 1778. During the mid-19th century, American Protestant missionaries came to the islands and many of the people converted to Christianity. Some of these missionaries and their descendants became trusted counselors to the monarchy which led to conflict between the monarchy and some of the American subjects. Great Britain and the United States landed troops in Hawaii to help restore order in 1874 when riots broke out over who should be the next monarch. In 1887, a constitution was instituted limiting the power of the monarch, and who could vote. When plans for a new constitution were announced in 1893, Queen Liliʻuokalani was overthrown by the Committee of Safety, who were mainly Euro-white businessmen, and a provisional government was put in place. Hawaii was annexed to the United States as the Territory of Hawaii in 1898.
Resources[edit | edit source]
- Japanese "away-from-home" workers in Hawaii: actions against men of military conscription age; court procedures; births and deaths. Diplomacy Record Office, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan. Microfilm 1524619 item 3.
- Japanese "away-from-home" workers in Hawaii : termination of labor contracts and return to Japan. Diplomacy Record Office, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan. Microfilm 1524619 item 4.
- https://www.familysearch.org/search/catalog/490170?availability=Family%20History%20Library Hawaii 1840-1843 territorial census records] by Ronald Vern Jackson. (North Salt Lake, Utah : Accelerated Indexing Systems, 1986).
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Hawaii," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hawaii, accessed 10 January 2020.