Hay Mills, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Hay Mills, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Great Town and Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
"BIRMINGHAM,(Hay Mills) a great town and in 1866 a chapelry, in the parish of Yardley, Worcestershire. The fourth in point of population in England, at the NW angle of Warwickshire, adjacent to Worcestershire and Staffordshire, 82 miles SSE of Manchester, 97 SE by S of Liverpool, and 112 NW of London. It is all, as a borough, in Warwickshire; but, as to its suburbs, it extends into Worcestershire and Staffordshire.
The places of worship, in 1865, were 35 of the Church of England, and about 91 of other denominations; and many of them were recent structures. Those in 1851, according to the Census, were 25 of the Ch. of England,. with 30,843 sittings; 1 of Presbyterians, with 700 s.; 12 of Independents, with 6,657 s.; 1 of Lady Huntingdon's,. with 200 s.; 9 of P. Baptists, with 6,749 s.; 1 of G. Baptists, with 568 s.; 2 of Quakers, with 744 s.; 5 of Unitarians, with 3,084 s.; 13 of W. Methodists, with 7,814 s.; 3 of NewMethodists, with 1,388 s.; 3 of Prim. Methodists, with 656 s.; 1 of the W. Association, with 600 s.; 2 of W. Reformers, with 270 s.; 1 of WelshMethodists, with 132 s.; 1 of the New Churchwith 500 s.; 1 of Brethren, with 100 attendants; 3 of isolated congregations, with 1,800 s.; 1 of Latter Day Saints, with 1,600 s.; 2 of the Catholics. and Ap. Church, with 600 s.; 4 of R. Catholics, with 1,549 s.; and 1 of Jews, with 360 s. According to returns, in 1865, the Church of England provides 36,000 sittings."
"St. Cyprian's Church, Hay Mills is a parish church in the Church of England in Hay Mills, Birmingham, England. It is situated on the southern side of the main Birmingham to Coventry Road A45 at the end of a lane called the Fordrough which leads to the factory of Webster & Horsfall Ltd. Date Accessed: 3 February 2012."
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hay Mills parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hay Mills Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the The Hive (where the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service is located).
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson. Imperial Gazetteer of England Wales. Published Edinburgh & London 1870. URL: www.visionofbritain.org.uk/descriptions/index.jsp
- Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia - St. Cyprian's Church-Hay Mills www.achurchnearyou.com/hay-mill-st-cyprian
- Searching Parish Records online (Worcestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.