Haywards Heath, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Haywards Heath, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Haywards Heath, a parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Haywards Heath, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Haywards Heath, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Haywards Heath Church of the Ascension, Sussex
Haywards Heath Church of the Good Shepherd, Sussex
Haywards Heath Church of the Presentation, Sussex
Haywards Heath Congregational Church(United Reformed Church), Sussex
HaywardsHeath, Elfinsward, The Chapel
Holy Cross Convent Chapel see Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Haywards Heath Jireh Strict Baptist Chapel, Sussex
Haywards Heath Methodist Church, Sussex
Old Congregational Chapel (St Edmund's) see Old Congregational Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Our Lady of Good Counsel Chapel (The Priory) see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Primitive Methodist Church (Baptist) see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Francis Hospital Chapel see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Paul(Roman Catholic) see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Haywards Heath was part of East Sussex until 1974 when it became part of the Mid Sussex district of West Sussex
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.