Haywood County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Haywood County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Waynesville
Organized: December 15, 1808
Parent County(s): Buncombe[1]
Neighboring Counties
Buncombe  • Cocke (TN)  • Henderson  • Jackson  • Madison  • Sevier (TN)  • Swain  • Transylvania
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaHaywoodCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-haywood.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Haywood County is located in the far western portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Tennessee. It was named for John Haywood, the state treasurer at the time.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Haywood County Courthouse
215 N Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786
Phone: 828-452-6635
Haywood County Website

Register of Deeds has birth, death, marriage, and land records.
Clerk of Superior Court has probate and court records.[3]

Haywood County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1808 1913 1809 1786 1903 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1932 Records were lost/destroyed during move into a new courthouse.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1808 Haywood County was established 15 December 1808 from Buncombe.
  • County seat: Waynesville[5]

Haywood County was formed from the western portion of Buncombe County in 1808. At the time of its formation, it stretched from Buncombe County to the Tennessee state line. In 1828, the western portion of Haywood County became Macon County. Parts of Haywood and Macon Counties were used to form Jackson county in 1851.

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Beaverdam
  • Bethel
  • Cataloochee
  • Cecil
  • Clyde
  • Crabtree
  • Cruso
  • East Fork
  • Fines Creek
  • Iron Duff
  • Ivy Hill
  • Jonathan Creek
  • Pigeon
  • Waynesville
  • White Oak


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Haywood County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 2,780
1820 4,073 46.5%
1830 4,578 12.4%
1840 4,975 8.7%
1850 7,074 42.2%
1860 5,801 −18.0%
1870 7,921 36.5%
1880 10,271 29.7%
1890 13,346 29.9%
1900 16,222 21.5%
1910 21,020 29.6%
1920 23,496 11.8%
1930 28,273 20.3%
1940 34,804 23.1%
1950 37,631 8.1%
1960 39,711 5.5%
1970 41,710 5.0%
1980 46,495 11.5%
1990 46,942 1.0%
2000 54,033 15.1%
2010 59,036 9.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


Church Records[edit | edit source]


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Cocke CountySevier CountyMadison CountyBuncombe CountyHenderson CountyTransylvania CountyJackson CountySwain CountyNC HAYWOOD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Haywood County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Haywood County:

- 16th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company L
- 1st Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 5th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company G
- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

County Records

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

  • Haywood County Register of Deeds
    County Courthouse
    215 N Main Street, Suite 213
    Waynesville, NC 28786
    Holds vital records. Birth and death records are available from 1913. Marriage records are available from 1808.

Online Records

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Haywood County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Haywood County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.

  • Haywood County Public Library
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Haywood County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.

  • Haywood County Historical & Genealogical Society
    PO Box 444
    Waynesville, NC 28786
    Phone: 828-564-1044
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Haywood County NCGenWeb genealogy resources; part of the national USGenWeb Project, Inc.
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/haywood
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Haywood County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Haywood County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Haywood_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 16 February 2020.