Headless Cross, Warwickshire Genealogy
Guide to Headless Cross, Warwickshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Headless Cross, Warwickshire|
|County||Warwickshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Alcester|
|Registration District||Alcester; Bromsgrove|
|Parish registers: 1615|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1612|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Headless Cross is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Warwickshire, created in 1850 from Ipsley Ancient Parish which is partly in Worcestershire and partly in Warwickshire. It was once a village in its own right.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Headless Cross parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Headless Cross Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
As this parish was part of Ipsley parish in Warwickshire and Feckenham parish in Worcesterhire, the census locations could be either for 1841 and possibly 1851. The census returns for Ipsley begin with film number 464168 and for Feckenham begin with film number 464208. If your ancestors were from this area, it is advisable to use the online indexes below because of being in both of these parishes at one time.
- FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and other libraries
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and other libraries as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries
- FreeCen is a UK census search site. It is incomplete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, published in 1870-72. Adapted. Accessed November 19, 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Warwickshire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.