Helion Bumpstead, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Helion Bumpstead, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Helion Bumpstead, Cambridgeshire|
|County||Cambridgeshire and Essex|
|Poor Law Union||Risbridge|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1629; 1800|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
BUMPSTEAD HELIONS (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Risbridge, hundred of Freshwell, N division of Essex, 3¾ miles SW by S from Haverhill.
The parish of Bumpstead Helions is partly in Cambridgeshire but mostly in Essex.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
For church records, see Helion Bumpstead, Essex.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 428-431. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.