Helligånd Parish København, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Helligånd, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


History[edit | edit source]

Helligånd parish was established in 1536. The parish was originally known as Helliggejsts parish. The church, called Helliggeist kirke, existed before the reformation as the klosterkirke and the hospitalskirke.

The following is a chronological list of changes to the parish:

  • 11 Jan 1805 - part of the disbanded Skt. Nikolaj parish was added to Helligånds parish.
  • 12 April 1881 - the name of the parish changed from Helliggejsts parish to Helligånds parish.
  • 13 May 1908 - the parish received a part of Vor Frue parish.
  • 1930 - part of the parish went to the newly established Christiansborg Slots parish.

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Helligånd Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Københavns Stift
Pastorat (chapelry) Helligånds Pastorat
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Copenhagen City
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Amagertorv, Anthonigade, Anthonistræde, Aaboulevard

Badestuestræde, Baghovedvakten, Brolæggerstræde

Christian d. 9. Gade, Citygade, City Passagen

David Skolemesters Gaard, Didrik Badskærs Gang

Endeløsstræde

Frederiksholms Kanal

Gammel Mønt, Gammel Strand, Gammel Torv, Gothersgade, Grønnegade, Graabrødrestræde, Graabrødretorv

Helliggeistesstræde, Hovedvagtsgade, Hyskenstræde, Højbro Plads, Højbrostræde

Jorcks Passage

Kejsergade, Kjøbmagergade, Klareboderne, Klosterstræde, Klædeboderne, Knabrostræde, Kokkegade, Kompagnistræde, Kongens Nytorv, Kristen Bernikows Gade, Kristen Bernikows Stræde, Kronprinsensgade

Lille Helliggeistesstræde, Lille Knabrostræde, Store Knabrostræde, Læderstræde, Løvstræde

Magstræde, Møntergade

Naboløs, Niels Hemmingsens Gade, Ny Adelgade, Nybrogade, Nygade, Nytorv, Ny Østergade

Peder Madsens Gang, Pilestræde, Pistolstræde, Prammands Gang, Proviantgaarden

Raadhusstræde, Raadstuestræde

Silkegade, Skindergade, Skoubogade, Slotsholmen, Snaregade, Stenboderne, Store Fiolstræde, Store Færgestræde, Store Grønnegade, Store Helliggeistesstræde, Store Kjøbmagergade, Store Regnegade, Stranden

Trompetergangen, Tugthusporten, Tøjhusgade

Valkendorfsgade, Vandmøllestræde, Vimmelskaftet

Østergade

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
  • FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting:
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]