Hennepin County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hennepin County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Hennepin County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Hennepin County
Location in the state of Minnesota, United States Genealogy
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 6, 1852
County Seat Minneapolis
Courthouse
Minnesota, Hennepin County Courthouse.png
Address Hennepin County Courthouse
300 S 6th Street
Minneapolis, MN 55487-0001
Phone: 612.348.8241
Hennepin County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Father Louis Hennepin. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.[1]

Hennepin County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1870 1853 1870 1853 1848 1855 1836
Statewide registration started for births in 1900 and deaths in 1908. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]



Clerk District Courth has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage, divorce and court records. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

  • 1852--Hennepin County was created 6 March 1852 from Dakota County. County seat: Minneapolis [4]
  • For a brief history of how Hennepin County was named, click here. Then select Hennepin County.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Unorganized territories


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives FamilySearch Places
Tombstone Project
MNInterment
MNGravestones
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1860 12,849 —
1870 31,566 145.7%
1880 67,013 112.3%
1890 185,294 176.5%
1900 228,340 23.2%
1910 333,480 46.0%
1920 415,419 24.6%
1930 517,785 24.6%
1940 568,899 9.9%
1950 676,579 18.9%
1960 842,854 24.6%
1970 960,080 13.9%
1980 941,411 −1.9%
1990 1,032,431 9.7%
2000 1,116,200 8.1%
2010 1,152,425 3.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Minneapolis
Lutheran[edit | edit source]

Bethany Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of the Bethany Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]

Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of the Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]

Gethsemane Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of Gethsemane Scandinavian Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]

Immanuel Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of the Immanuel Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]

Liberty Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis

  • Records of Liberty Evangelical Lutheran Church, Minneapolis, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).[6]


List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Hennepin – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Hennepin County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Sherburne CountyAnoka CountyRamsey CountyDakota CountyScott CountyCarver CountyWright CountyMN HENNEPIN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Civil War service men from Hennepin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Hennepin County.

- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company A.
- 1st Battalion, Minnesota Infantry Volunteers, Company B.
- 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company E.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company D.
- 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies G and I.
- 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company A.
- 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company C.
- 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B, C, and D.
- 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and K.
- 9th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company K.
- Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies B and C.
- Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A, B, C and E.
- 1st Minnesota Company Sharpshooters, First Company only
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Hennepin County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • Newspaper Links - Minnesota Historical Society
  • Chronicling America (Library of Congress) This freely accessible website, available from any Internet connection, hosts historic newspapers (1860-1922) from across the United States for noncommercial, educational and research purposes. Currently the following Minnesota titles are available on Chronicling America, with more to follow:

The appeal .  (Saint Paul, Minn.) 1889-19?? African-American newspaper. More than 1,500 issues between 1889 and 1922 have been digitized and are fully searchable on-line at the Library of Congress, Chronicling America website.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information. Online Probate Indexes and Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Hennepin History Museum
Hennepin County Historical Society
2303 3rd Ave S
Minneapolis MN 55404-3505
Telephone: 612-870-1329
Website

Brooklyn Historical Society
5600 85th Ave
Brooklyn Center MN 55443
Telephone: 763-392-5356
Website

Champlin Historical Society
11955 Champlin Drive
Champlin MN 55316

Eden Prairie Historical Society
Eden Prairie City Center
8080 Mitchell Road
Eden Prairie MN 55344
Telephone: 952-949-8580
Website


Golden Valley Historical Society
6731 Golden Valley Rd
Golden Valley MN 55427
Telephone: 763-588-8578
Website

Hopkins Historical Society
Hopkins Activity Center
33 14th Ave North
Hopkins MN 55343
Telephone: 952-548-6480
Website

Plymouth Historical Society
3400 Plymouth Blvd
Plymouth MN 55447-1448
Website

Richfield Historical Society
6901 Lyndale Avenue S.
Richfield, MN 55423
Telephone: 612-798-6140
Website

St. Louis Park Historical Society
3700 Monterey Drive
St Louis Park MN 55416-4902
Telephone: 952-924-2538
Website

Wayzata Historical Society, at the Depot
402 Lake St E
Wayzata MN 55391-1651
Telephone: 952-473-3631
Website

Westonka Historical Society
Westonka History Museum
5341 Maywood Road
Mound, MN 55364
Telephone: 952-472-9800
Website

Immigration History Research Center (IHRC)
University of Minnesota
Elmer L. Andersen Library Suite 311
222 21st Ave S
Minneapolis MN 55455-0439
Telephone: 612-625-4800
Website

James K. Hosmer Special Collections
Hennepin County Library
Minneapolis Central Library
300 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis MN 55401
Telephone: 612-543-8200
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries[edit | edit source]

Hennepin County Library
300 Nicollet Mall
Minneapolis, MN 55401
University of Minnesota Libraries
65 Wilson Library
309 19th Ave South
Minneapolis, MN 55455


Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hennepin County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hennepin_County,_Minnesota accessed 13 Nov 2018
  2. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hennepin County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hennepin County, Minnesota page 364, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Hennepin County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hennepin_County%2C_Minnesota, accessed 29 January 2020.
  6. ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 6.4 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
v • d • e
Links to Minnesota-related articles
Topics
Counties
Aitkin · Anoka · Becker · Beltrami · Benton · Big Stone · Blue Earth · Brown · Carlton · Carver · Cass · Chippewa · Chisago · Clay · Clearwater · Cook · Cottonwood · Crow Wing · Dakota · Dodge · Douglas · Faribault · Fillmore · Freeborn · Goodhue · Grant · Hennepin · Houston · Hubbard · Isanti · Itasca · Jackson · Kanabec · Kandiyohi · Kittson · Koochiching · Lac qui Parle · Lake · Lake of the Woods · Le Sueur · Lincoln · Lyon · Mahnomen · Marshall · Martin · McLeod · Meeker · Mille Lacs · Morrison · Mower · Murray · Nicollet · Nobles · Norman · Olmsted · Otter Tail · Pennington · Pine · Pipestone · Polk · Pope · Ramsey · Red Lake · Redwood · Renville · Rice · Rock · Roseau · Scott · Sherburne · Sibley · St. Louis · Stearns · Steele · Stevens · Swift · Todd · Traverse · Wabasha · Wadena  · Waseca  · Washington · Watonwan · Wilkin  · Winona  · Wright  · Yellow Medicine
Extinct
Counties
Major
Repositories
Online Records · National Archives at Chicago · Minnesota Historical Society · MHS Regional Centers: Central · Northeast · Northwest · Southern · Southwest · West Central · Minnesota Genealogical Society · Immigration History Research Center · Iron Range Research Center · Stearns History Museum Research Center · University of Minnesota Wilson Library · Newberry Library · Norwegian American Genealogical Center and Naeseth Library
Migration
Routes
References
  1. ↑ Prior to Minnesota becoming a territory much of north eastern Minnesota was in Saint Croix County (now located only in Wisconsin)

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Hennepin_County,_Minnesota_Genealogy&oldid=4343839"