Herad (Herred) Parish, Vest-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Herad, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Herad (Herred) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Stavanger bispedømme 1122-1681, Christianssand Stift 1682-1917, Agder bispedømme 1918-2014, Agder og Telemark bispedømme 2015-today
Prosti Lister
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Lister og Mandal
Fylke 1919-Present Vest-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Herred
Kommune Herad
Skifteretten Lister sorenskriveri
Tinglag Farsund
Fogderi Lister
Sorenskriveri Lyngdal
Skipreide Likely Lista (Lister)


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Herad clerical district contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Herad (Herred) and Spind until 1893. They were separated from Lista (Vanse) clerical district in 1828, when they bacame their own clerical district. Pre-1828 see Lista (Vanse) clerical district.

Microfilmed records are available from 1692-1921 at the Family History Library.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet.

Vanse / Herad: 1693-1714, 176-1815

Herad: 1816-1981, Herad / Spind 1797-1949, Farsund / Herad / Spind 1916-1982


Census Records[edit | edit source]

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.


This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete. Original manuscripts on microfilm.



The 1801 census (b. 35) for Herad clerical district includes Herad and Spind parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Original manuscripts on microfilm.


This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Original manuscripts on microfilm.


This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.



This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Original manuscripts on microfilm.


Database at Digitalarkivet.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:
31 Aasen, 56 Austad nedre

10 Bidringsaas, 53 Bines, 37 Bjelland, 12 Briseid, 26 Bulægen

6 Dalland, 22 Djubhagen, 47 Drange, 41 Drangsheien

30 Eigeland, 8 Eivenshelle, 7 Espeland

1 Fulland

19 Gautland, 32 Gjervoldstad, 28 Grimestad

44 Havaasen, 51 Holmen, 4 Hoveland, 9 Høiland

20 Jersdal lille

46 Kalvenes østre, 13 Kjellingbø, 24 Kjørklev med Daland, 48 Klungeland, 15 Kvaale, 17 Kvaalsheien

2 Lauland, 40 Laundal, 45 Litland, 14 Log med Kalvenes vestre, 18 Logsheien

33 Meland

34 Ofte

38 Røinaasen, 36 Røineskogen

11 Sande, 16 Sandsheien, 27 Sandvigen, 29 Saudland, 39 Saudland, 50 Seland, 54 Skjoldal lille, 5 Steian, 25 Stølen indre, 42 Svindal, 3 Sæveland lille, 35 Sæveland store

43 Tosaas

49 Vallelien, 52 Vedremark.


The farm names listed in Rudjord and Høyland's  Herad  in 1977 were as follows:
Anders Nilsens gard, Anders Reiersens gard, Anders Skomakers bruk, Ansteinsen Ole gard, Aslak Eigelands bruk, Austad Nedre, Austad Slave bruk, Austad Øvre, Austad, Austre Kalvenes, Austre Tosås

Badstufeda, Bakken, Bedringås, Beide, Bent Jonsens bruk, Bines, Bjelland, Bjørn Simonsens gard, Bodvars bruk, Brannen, Briseid, Brønjel Ånensens bruk, Bulega, Bygselgodset, Bøen, Børel Knudsens bruk, Børo

Dalan, Dalen, Dalland, Didriks gard, Didriksen Kristen gard, Djubhagen, Drange, Drangsheia

Eigeland Aslak bruk, Eigeland, Eldebrann, Erik Åptas gard, Eriksen Lars bruk, Eriksen Laurit bruk, Espeland

Fagervoll, Fulland

Gautland, Gjeidebakkan, Gjersdal Lille, Gjersdal Store, Gjervolstad, Gjestgivergarden, Gjestjiveriet, Grimestad, Gulluf Gunnarsens gard, Gunnarsen Jon gard, Gunnarsen Lars gard, Gunnarsens Gulluf gard, Gunnarsens Kristen gard

Hans Stålesens bruk, Hansen Jacob gard, Haugen, Havåsen, Heimre Tosås, Holmen, Hoveland, Høyland, Håland Laurits bruk

Indre Sæveland

Jacob Hansen gard, Jakob Simonsens bruk, Jakob Tollaksens gard, Jakobsensgard Lars, Jensens Peder bruk, Jofrid Åptas gard, Jon Gunnarsens gard, Jon Jørgensens gard, Jonsen Bent bruk, Jonsens Ommund gard, Jørgensen Jon gard

Kalvehagen, Kalvenes Austre, Kalvenes Vestre, Kjørkebråde, Kjørkleiv, Klungland, Klunglandsheia, Knudsen Børel bruk, Kraben, Kringlemyra, Kristen Didriksens gard, Kristen Gunnarsens gard, Kristen Mortensens gard, Kristenshagen, Kristoffer Nilsens gard, Kvennviga, Kvåle Nedre, Kvåle Øvre, Kvåle, Kvålsheia

Lars Eriksens bruk, Lars Gunnarsens gard, Lars Jakobsensgard, Lars Larsens bruk, Lars Olsens gard, Larsen Lars bruk, Larsen Mikkel gard, Lauland, Laundal Nedre, Laundal Øvre, Laundal, Laurits Eriksens bruk, Laurits Hålands bruk, Laurits Torbjørnsens gard, Lauviga, Legevollen, Lille Gjersdal, Litland, Litlandsstranda, Litle Skjoldal, Logsheia, Lundemyr

Mads gard, Mads Torkelsens gard, Madsen Nils gard, Meland, Mikkel Larsens gard, Mortensen Kristen gard, Mortensen Salve gard, Møllebruk

Nedre Austad, Nedre Kvåle, Nedre Laundal, Nedre Åpta, Nils Madsens gard, Nils Nilsens gard, Nils Sørensens gard, Nilsen Anders gard, Nilsen Kristoffer gard, Nilsen Nils gard, Nilsen Ola gard, Nordli, Nyborg

Oddsen Tjøl bruk, Ola Nilsens gard, Ola Reiersens, Ola Åptas gard, Ole Ansteinsens gard, Ole Torkelsens gard, Olsen Lars gard, Olsen Sveinung gard, Om Prestegarden, Ommund Jonsens gard, Ospelunden, Oygarden

Peder Jensens bruk, Peder Pedersens bruk, Pedersens Peder bruk, Porsemyra, Poståpneriet

Reier Svindals gard, Reier Åptas gard, Reiersen Ols, Reiersens Anders gard, Ryggåsen, Røynskogen, Røynåsen

Saltnes, Salve Austads bruk, Salve Mortensens gard, Sande, Sanders gard, Sandsheia, Sandviga, Saudan, Saudland, Saudlandsheia, Seland, Simonsen Bjørn gard, Simonsen Jakob bruk, Sjøli, Skjoldal litle, Skjoldal Store, Skoletomta, Skomaker Anders bruk, Skåra, Slåta, Spelevollen, Stadnamn, Steian, Store Gjersdal, Store Skjoldal, Strånnebakkan, Stølen Ytre, Stølen Øvre, Stålesen Hans bruk, Sveinung Olsens gard, Svindal Reier gard, Svindal, Sæveland Indre, Sæveland ytre, Sørensen Nils gard

Tjøl Oddsens bruk, Tollaksen Jakob gard, Tollefs gard Torgjørnsen Laurits gard, Torgrims bruk, Torjesen Ånen gard, Torjus gard, Torjus Torjussens gard, Torjussen Torjus gard, Torkelia, Torkelsen Mads gard, Torkelsen Ole gard, Tosås Austre, Tosås Heimre, Tosås Vestre, Tosås, Tosåsstranda, Tuan

Vaddelia, Vedremark, Vestre Kalvenes, Vestre Tosås, Vollan

Ytre Stølen, Ytre Sæveland

Øvre Austad, Øvre Kvåle, Øvre Laundal, Øvre Stølen, Øvre Åpta, Øyvindsel

Ånen Torjesens gard, Ånensen Brønjel bruk, Åpta Erik gard, Åpta Jofrid gard, Åpta Nedre, Åpta Ola gard, Åpta Reier gard, Åpta Øvre, Åpta, Åsen.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Lister og Lyngdal
*1666-1889 Family History Library
*1666-1810 Digitalarkivet

Lyngdal judical district
*1810-1910 Digitalarkivet

Lista deanery
*1804-1834 Family History Library
*1804-1834 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Rudjord, Kåre og Høyland, Arnfinn.  Herad  Bygda Mellom  Fjorder Og Fjell.  Flekkefjord:  S. Bern. Hegland Trykkeri, A/S, 1977.