Hereford St Martin, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Hereford St Martin, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hereford St Martin, Herefordshire|
Hereford St Martin Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Hereford|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1672|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Research Facilities
- 5 Websites
- 6 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HEREFORD, an ancient city, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Grimsworth, county of Hereford, of which it is the chief town, 135 miles (W. N. W.) from London; containing, exclusively of the townships of Lower Bullingham and Grafton, in the parish of St. Martin, hundred of Webtree. The parish is one of several in this city of which the principal is the Cathedral, dedicated to St Mary and St Ethelbert (which see). With St Martin's here's a list of chapels and ecclesiastical parishes within the city:
- Hereford All Saints
- Hereford St John the Baptist
- Hereford St Nicholas
- Hereford St Owen
- Hereford St Peter
- Hereford Cathedral (St Mary and St Ethelbert)
St Martin's Parish registers commence from 1559. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|Hereford St Martin Online Parish Records|
|Parish Registers - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Find My Past-Herefordshire ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)|
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition England Family History Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
- Census returns for Hereford 1841-1891 at FamilySearch
- Ancestry UK Census Collection (fee payable)
- Find my Past census search 1841-1901 (fee payable)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
England Family History Centres
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England. London (1848). Date accessed: 22 May 2013.