Herefordshire, England Genealogy
|Herefordshire Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Herefordshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Herefordshire, or Hereford, is an inland county contiguous to Wales in England. In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described Herefordshire like this:
"Herefordshire, an inland co. on the SE. border of Wales, and bounded N. by Shropshire and Worcestershire, E. by Worcestershire and Gloucestershire, S. by Gloucestershire and Monmouthshire, and W. by Monmouthshire, Radnorshire, and Brecknockshire; greatest length N. and S. 38 miles, greatest breadth E. and W. 35 miles; 532,918 ac., pop. 121,062. The co. is almost circular in form, and its surface shows a series of quiet and beautiful undulations. It is watered by the Wye, Lugg, Monnow, Arrow, and Frome, also the Teme. . . ."
Parishes[edit | edit source]
A B C D E F G H I K L M N O P R S T U V W Y
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Herefordshire.
Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Herefordshire Resources and help pages on RootsChat Herefordshire Resources and help pages. (Free)
- Online Genealogical Index
- 1930 - England and Wales National Register, 1939 at FamilySearch — index
|Monmouthshire, Wales||Monmouthshire, Wales Gloucestershire||Gloucestershire|