Herefoss Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Herefoss, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Herefoss Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Vest-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Herefoss
Kommune Birkenes
Skifteretten Østre Råbyggelag skifterett
Tinglag Nedenes
Fogderi Østre Raabyggelag
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Strengreid skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Herefoss prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for the parishes Herefoss, Vegusdal and Mykland. Herefoss clerical district was established 1 April 1875 when Herefoss parish was separated from Hommedal clerical district; Vegusdal parish from Evje clerical district; and Mykland parish from Åmli clerical district. Earlier church records for Herfoss, Vegusdal and Mykland parishes are in the above mentioned clerical districts.

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

see Hommedal for 1664-1666, 1801, 1865.



  • 1891: The 1891 census for Hereforss clerical district includes the parishes of Herefoss, Vegusdal, and Mykland. It is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • 1900: The 1900 census for Herefoss clerical district includes the parishes of Herefoss, Vegusdal, and Mykland. It contains the name of the farm, persons name, sex, resident, or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, birth date, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information and is available in a searchable database online at  Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives); as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.



Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Herefoss, Hans; Holm, Andreas: Herefoss bygdesoge:

FHL 948.28/H2 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index:

17 Aamli,

30 Bjelland, 4 Bjorvatn, 1 Brubakken,

3 Dalen, 21 Dalene, 11 Direnes,

12 Engebu, 2 Espestøl,

33 Gauslaa,

5 Haaland, 24 Heimdal lille, 1 Herefoss, 29 Hismyr,10 Holtebu, 33 Hønneklev,

3 Koveland, 29 Kylland,

1 Landstveit, 16 Lauvaasen, 28 Løland,

31 Nes, 27 Nesbu,

11 Odden,

23 Ramselien, 32 Retterstøl, 33 Ringestøl, 18 Rodalen, 15 Rosaasen,

19 Senningtveit, 33 Skogtveit, 1 Slettene, 1 Smedbakken, 8 Sneløs, 14 Stie, 25 Stoveland, 26 Suggelien, 20 Sundkjenn,

13 Topland, 7 Trantelien, 6 Tveiten,

22 Væting,

9 Ørteland

Herefoss Bygdesoge Heim Og Ætt:

Bjelland, Bjorvatn, Brobakken,

Dalane, Der nede, Der nord, Der oppe, Der vest, Direnes,

Eikas bruk, Engebu, Espestøl,

Fredheim,

Gaualå,

Hagane, Hamnehagen, Hanefossen, Heimdal, Herefoss, Holtebu, Hos Aanon, Hos Arne, Hos Bernt, Hos Børge, Hos Eivind, Hos Gudmund, Hos Gunnar, Hos Halvor, Hos Hans, Hos Holm,Hos Jon, Hos Jørgen, Hos Kittel, Hos Kristen, Hos Nersten, Hos Nils, Hos Olaf, Hos Osuld, Hos Pers, Hos Peder, Hos Søren, Hos Stålesen, Hos Tallak, Hos Torgeir, Hos Uldal, Hos Ånund, Håland,

Jerpefjellet,

Koveland, Kroken, Kylland,

Landstveit, Lauvåsen, Lunden, Løland,

Moen,

Nes, Nesbu, Nordli, Norheim,

Prestegarden,

Ramselia, Retterstøol, Rodalen, Rosåsen,

Senningtveit, Smedbakken, Smiedalen, Snøløs, Solberg, Stasjonsbyen, Stie, Stoveland, Suggelia, Sundtjønn,

Telleis bruk, Teltmarken, Torsbumonen, Topland, Trantelia, Tveiten,

Væting, Vætings bruk,

Ørteland,

Åmlid

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Østre Råbyggelag judicial district
*1697-1852 Family History Library
*1697-1852 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes judicial district to 1824
*1852-1892 Family History Library
*1852-1904 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

Hans Herefoss. Herefoss Bygdesoge Heim og Ætt. Naper Boktrykken, Kragerø, 1981]