Herstmonceux, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Herstmonceux, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Hailsham|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HERSTMONCEAUX (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Hailsham, hundred of Foxearle, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (E.) from Hailsham; There are a places of worship for Independents, and a buryingground for the Society of Friends.
Herstmonceux All Saints is an Ancient parish which included Gardiner Street and Bodle Street and is in the Wealden district of East Sussex. The Parish church is distant from the modern civil parish which includes Cowbeech and a number of small hamlets Foul Mile, Trolliloes, Cowbeech Hill, Stunts Green, Ginger's Green, Flowers Green and part of Windmill Hill.
A history of the church Herstmonceux All Saints
The Parish church of All Saints has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Herstmonceux Wikipedia
Herstmonceaux Friends Meeting House has a 1734 date stone.
Herstmonceux Free Church an Independent/Congregationalist church was built asa Congregational Chapel in 1811 at Chapel Cross outside nearby Herstmonceaux see a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see Hailsham registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex,The Register Office, Town Hall, Grove Road, Eastbourne
BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780Fax 01323 431386 email firstname.lastname@example.org
Church records[edit | edit source]
Herstmonceux, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Herstmonceux, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
|BIVRI||1606-1893||1606-1837, 1859-1893 (gaps)|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Herstmonceux
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 491-497. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.