To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Hertford County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hertford County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Winton
Organized: December 12, 1754
Parent County(s): Chowan, Bertie, Northampton[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bertie  • Chowan  • Gates  • Northampton  • Southampton (VA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaHertfordCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nc-hertford.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Hertford County is located in the eastern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. It was named for Francis Seymour Conway, Earl and later Marquis of Hertford.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hertford County Courthouse
King Street
PO Box 36
Winton, NC 27986
Phone: 252-358-7850
Hertford County Website

Register of Deeds has birth and death records and burial records from 1913, marriage records from 1884 and land records from 1866.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1883, and probate records from 1869.[3]

Hertford County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1884 1913 1883 1866 1869 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1822, 1830 Courthouse fires destroyed the majority of the county's records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

In 1779 the northeastern part of Hertford County was combined with parts of Chowan County and Perquimans County to form Gates County.

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Towns
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Ahoskie
  • Harrellsville
  • Maneys Neck
  • Murfreesboro
  • St. John's
  • Winton


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The first official court proceedings in the area were held at Cotton's Ferry. In 1766 Assembly Representative Benjamin Wynn donated fifty acres for a town to be properly established and it was briefly called "Wynntown". Shortly following the 1766 incorporation of the town "Winton" became the county seat of government as it proudly remains today.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hertford County, North Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Mr. Arthur Cotten's. Established by 1782.[7]
  • Old Meherrin, Murfreesboro, N.C. Established 1735.[7]
  • Buckhorn Baptist, Como, N.C. Established 1835. [8]

Church of England

  • St. John's Chapel. Established by 1782.[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Greensville CountySouthampton CountySuffolk (Independent City)Gates CountyChowan CountyBertie CountyNorthampton CountyNC HERTFORD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Hertford County for European settlers included:[10]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Hertford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hertford County:

- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry
- 11th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- 17th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry (1st Organization), Company D
- 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company K
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company K
- 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company C
- 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company C
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company D
- 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Yearbooks

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Hertford County Public Library
PO Box 68
Winton, NC 27986
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • NCGenWeb: Hertford County - part of the USGenWeb Project
  • USGenWeb Archives - many additional records for Hertford
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Hertford
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Hertford County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Hertford County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hertford_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 16 February 2020.
  7. 7.0 7.1 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:478, 488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  8. Minutes 1835-1963. Buckhorn Baptist Church (Murfreesboro, NC); FHL microfilm #314012
  9. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:488. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  10. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  11. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/9/91/Iginorthcarolinag.pdf.