Hesketh with Becconsall, Lancashire Genealogy

England

Lancashire

Lancashire Parishes

Hesketh with Becconsall

Guide to Hesketh with Becconsall, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Hesketh with Becconsall, Lancashire
Type	Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred	Leyland
County	Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union	Ormskirk
Registration District	Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1745
Bishop's Transcripts: 1803
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery	Leyland
Diocese	Manchester
Province	York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court	Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History

HESKETH, with Becconsall, a parish, in the union of Ormskirk, hundred of Leyland, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 11 miles north by east of Ormskirk. The church, erected in 1745, and generally called Becconsall chapel, stands one mile below Hesketh Bank; it became the parish church in 1821, when an act was passed separating Hesketh and Becconsall from Croston, and forming them into a distinct parish. The Primitive Methodists have a place of worship.

Hesketh Bank is a small agricultural village in Lancashire. It lies to the north-east of the town of Southport on the Irish Sea estuary of the River Ribble. The area falls under West Lancashire Borough Council for administrative purposes, and Hesketh-with-Becconsall Parish Council for parochial matters. Becconsall Old Church was hit by bomb shrapnel during World War II, All Saints Church on Station Road replaced the old church.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church Records

Online Records 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)

FS = FamilySearch.org

LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk

HESKETH WITH BECCONSALL PARISH (1745) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1745-1837	1822-1900	None
LOPC	1745-1856	1822-1900	1745-1900

Other important considerations:

Prior to the year 1821 Hesketh with Becconsall served as a chapelry only (a small subdivision of the parish of Croston). It became a full-fledged parish by act of Parliament in 1821. Searches for ancestry prior to this year, must include searches in the Hesketh with Becconsall Chapelry registers which began in 1745, and Croston parish registers and those of its attached chapelries. The baptisms, marriages and burials for Croston Parish and its smaller chapelries are online for the following range of years: 

CROSTON ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGELS PARISH (1538) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1543-1900	1543-1900	None
LOPC	1543-1948	1538-1900	1538-1900
AC	1545-1685	1545-1685	1545-1685
BRETHERTON ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1819) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1819-1883	1829-1883	None
LOPC	1841-1850	1843-1922	1841-1850
MAWDESLEY Chapelry (1840) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1841-1878	1843-1846;1873-1878	None
LOPC	1840-1900	1843-1900	1841-1925
TARLETON HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1719) Indexes
	Baptisms	Marriages	Burials
FS	1745-1837	None	None
LOPC	1719-1900	1720-1909	1720-1883

Original records

While FamilySearch has microfilmed the original Hesketh with Becconsall parish registers of baptisms, marriages and burials from 1821, these have not been completely transcribed and published online with the exception of the baptisms (see above). However, the Parish of Croston which formerly was, prior to 1821 the mother or ancient parish, has been transcribed, indexed and published online on the web site per the above chart. 

[Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection]

Non Conformist Records

• 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)

Catholic

• 1628 - 1628 List of Recusants in Hesketh and Beckonsall (p. 174)

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Poor Law Unions

Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

• 1628 - 1628 Subsidy of Hesketh and Beconsall (p. 165)

• 1665 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Leyland Hundred, Hesketh with Beconsall. E 179/132/351, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

• England Jurisdictions 1851
• Vision of Britain