To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Heyshott, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Heyshott, Sussex)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Heyshott, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Heyshott St James is a parish created from the Ancient Parish of Stedham, Sussex, the church from the 17th century until 1882 was a chapelry.

The Parish Church has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

Heyshott is a village and civil parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex.

Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Heyshott St James

See Heyshott Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Heyshott, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[1]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Heyshott, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1587-1880 1587-1875
PRTS 1587-1949
1587-1949
1587-1949

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Heyshott/

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.