Hickling, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Hickling, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Hickling, Nottinghamshire
Hickling St Luke Nottinghamshire.jpg
Hickling St Luke Nottinghamshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Bingham
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1646
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]


HICKLING (St. Luke), a parish, in the union, and S. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 8¼ miles (N. W. by N.) from Melton-Mowbray. This parish is situated within two miles of the road from Melton-Mowbray to Nottingham. The Nottingham and Grantham canal passes close to the village. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Hickling St Luke is an Ancient parish and part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with Leicestershire with neighbours Long Clawson, Leicestershire Genealogy and Nether Broughton, Leicestershire Genealogy.

The church of St Luke has been designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building

See also Hickling Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Hickling, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
HICKLING PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
PALL
1646-1837

Hickling St Luke

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1646-2010 Marriages 1646-1978 Burials 1646-1975 Bishop's Transcripts 1621-1841
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hickling

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Military[edit | edit source]

War Memorial - Hickling Village. A transcription of the marble plaque of Memorial Inscriptions for W.W.1 and 2, on the outside wall of the village Hall/School, giving surname and christian names. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 87, page 58, FHAL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Hickling in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

[tree] This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
v • d • e
Links to Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Annesley  • Arnold  • Askham  • Attenborough  • Averham with Kelham  • Awsworth  • Babworth  • Balderton  • Barnby in the Willows  • Barton in Fabis  • Basford  • Beckingham  • Beeston  • Besthorpe  • Bilborough with Strelley  • Bilsthorpe  • Bingham  • Bleasby  • Blidworth  • Blyth  • Bole  • Bothamsall  • Boughton St Matthew  • Bradmore  • Bramcote  • Brewhouse Yard  • Broughton Sulney  • Bulcote  • Bulwell  • Bunny  • Burton Joyce  • Calverton  • Carburton  • Car Colston  • Carlton in Lindrick  • Carlton on Trent  • Carrington  • Caunton  • Clarborough  • Clayworth  • Clifton with Glapton  • Coddington  • Colston Bassett  • Colwick  • Cossall  • Costock  • Cotgrave  • Cotham  • Cottam  • Cromwell  • Cropwell Bishop  • Darlton  • Dunham  • Eakring  • East Bridgford  • East Drayton  • East Leake  • East Markham  • East Retford  • East Stoke  • Eastwood  • Eaton  • Edingley  • Edwalton  • Edwinstowe  • Egmanton  • Elksley  • Elston  • Elton on the Hill  • Epperstone  • Everton  • Farndon  • Farnsfield  • Felley  • Finningley  • Flawborough  • Fledborough  • Flintham  • Fulwood  • Gamston  • Gedling  • Girton  • Gonalston  • Gotham  • Granby  • Greasley  • Gringley on the Hill  • Grove  • Halam  • Halloughton  • Harworth  • Haughton  • Hawksworth  • Hawton  • Hayton  • Haywood Oaks  • Headon cum Upton  • Hickling  • Hockerton  • Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton  • Hucknall Torkard  • Hyson Green  • Ironville  • Kelham  • Keyworth  • Kilvington  • Kimberley  • Kingston on Soar  • Kinoulton  • Kirkby in Ashfield  • Kirklington  • Kirton  • Kneesall  • Kneeton  • Lambley  • Laneham  • Langar cum Barnstone  • Langford with Holme  • Laxton  • Lenton  • Linby  • Lindhurst  • Littleborough  • Lodge on the Wolds  • Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe  • Mansfield St Peter and St Paul  • Mansfield Woodhouse  • Maplebeck  • Markham Clinton  • Marnham  • Mattersey  • Meering  • Misson  • Misterton  • Morton  • New Basford  • New Radford  • Newark on Trent  • Newark on Trent Christ Church  • Newstead Priory  • Normanton on Soar  • Normanton on Trent  • North Clifton  • North Collingham  • North Leverton with Apesthorpe  • North Muskham  • North Wheatley  • Norton Cuckney  • Norwell  • Nottingham St James  • Nottingham St John the Baptist  • Nottingham St Mary the Virgin  • Nottingham St Nicholas  • Nottingham St Paul  • Nottingham St Peter  • Nuthall  • Ollerton  • Ordsall  • Orston  • Ossington  • Owthorpe  • Oxton  • Papplewick  • Park Leys  • Park, The  • Perlethorpe  • Plumtree  • Radcliffe on Trent  • Radford St Peter  • Ragnall  • Rampton  • Ratcliffe on Soar  • Rempstone  • Rolleston  • Ruddington  • Rufford Abbey  • Saundby  • Scarrington  • Screveton  • Scrooby  • Selston with Underwood and Westwood  • Shelford  • Shelton  • Sibthorpe  • Skegby  • Sneinton St Stephen  • South Collingham  • South Leverton  • South Muskham  • South Scarle  • South Wheatley  • Southwell  • Southwell Holy Trinity  • Standard Hill  • Stanford on Soar  • Stanton on the Wolds  • Stapleford  • Staunton  • Stockwith  • Stokeham  • Strelley  • Sturton le Steeple  • Sutton Bonington St Anne  • Sutton Bonington St Michael  • Sutton cum Lound  • Sutton in Ashfield  • Sutton on Trent  • Syerston  • Teversal  • The Park  • Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme  • Thoroton  • Thorpe  • Thrumpton  • Thurgarton with Hoveringham  • Tollerton  • Treswell  • Trowell  • Tuxford  • Tythby with Cropwell Butler  • Upton  • Walesby  • Walkeringham  • Warsop with Sookholme  • Welbeck  • Wellow  • West Bridgford  • West Burton  • West Drayton  • West Leake  • West Retford  • Weston  • Whatton  • Widmerpool  • Wilford  • Willoughby on the Wolds  • Winkburn  • Winthorpe  • Wiverton Hall  • Wollaton  • Woodborough  • Woodhouse Hall  • Woodsetts  • Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert  • Wysall

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories


  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
  3. ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Hickling,_Nottinghamshire_Genealogy&oldid=3760124"