Hickman County, Tennessee Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hickman County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Facts
County seat: Centerville
Organized: December 3, 1807
Parent County(s): Dickson[1]
Neighboring Counties
Dickson  • Humphreys  • Lewis  • Maury  • Perry  • Williamson
See County Maps
Courthouse
Hickman County Tennessee Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Hickman County, Tennessee.PNG
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
TGW 45x45.jpg This page adopted by:
TNGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Edwin Hickman, an explorer and surveyor who was killed in an Indian attack at Defeated Creek in 1791. The County is located in the central area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hickman County Courthouse
Public Square
Centerville, TN 37033
County Courthouse Phone: 931-729-2621
County Clerk Phone: 931-729-2522
Circuit Court Phone: 931-729-2211
Register of Deeds Phone: 931-729-4882

Hickman County Archivist
8 Public Square
Centerville, TN 37033
County Archivist Phone: 931-729-6478

The Hickman County Archives are bound volumes that have been microfilmed, with the exception of deeds and deeds of trust, and are available for review with the original volumes on-site for verification of unclear images.

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1867
Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and probate records
Register of Deeds has land records from 1807[3]

County Pronunciation

  1. Hear it spoken[4] (female)
  2. Hear it spoken[5] (male)

Hickman County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[6]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914 1867 1914 1844 1807 1846 1810
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1864 Fire damaged courthouse records.[7]

  • Lost censuses: 1810
  • Lost marriage records: 1807 to 1868
  • Lost probate records: 1807 to 1866

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1807--Hickman County was created 3 December 1807 from Dickson County.
  • County seat: Centerville[8]

For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Additional Information
Middle Tennessee county. Established 1807.

The county is named after "Edwin Hickman, a longhunter killed by Native Americans near the present-day Centerville."[10]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Douthat, James L. Hickman County, Tennessee Biographies. 1887; reprint, Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press. Free Surname Index and purchase details at Mountain Press website.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Miller, Alan N. Middle Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1784 to 1902. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2004. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2ma. Purchase at Genealogical.com. Includes Hickman County.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hickman County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 2,583
1820 6,080 135.4%
1830 8,119 33.5%
1840 8,618 6.1%
1850 9,397 9.0%
1860 9,312 −0.9%
1870 9,856 5.8%
1880 12,095 22.7%
1890 14,499 19.9%
1900 16,367 12.9%
1910 16,527 1.0%
1920 16,216 −1.9%
1930 13,613 −16.1%
1940 14,873 9.3%
1950 13,353 −10.2%
1960 11,862 −11.2%
1970 12,096 2.0%
1980 15,151 25.3%
1990 16,754 10.6%
2000 22,295 33.1%
2010 24,690 10.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Hickman County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

See Hickman County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files. The USGenWeb Census Project®

1810 Lost A substitute is available:

  • Sherrill, Charles A. The Reconstructed 1810 Census of Tennessee: 33,000 Long-lost Records from Tax Lists, Court Minutes, Church Records, Wills, Deeds and Other Sources. Mt. Juliet, Tenn.: C.A. Sherrill, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1810.

1810-1891

1820

  • Ballard, Linda and Shelley Bishop. 1820 Census of Hickman County, Tennessee.Lyles, Tennessee Linn-Shell Pub., 1987. FHL 976.8434 X2b 1820
  • Bentley, Elizabeth P. Index to the 1820 Census of Tennessee. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1981. FHL 976.8 X22b 1820
  • Census takers found no free African Americans living in Hickman County, Tennessee in 1820.[11]

1830

  • Coleman, Brenda W.United States Census Hickman County, Tennessee, 1830.Atoka, Tennessee B.W. Coleman, 1996. FHL 976.8434 X2c 1830

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

1850

  • Garrett, Jill K. and Catherine K. Gilliam. 1850 Census of Hickman County, Tennessee.S.p.: 1967. FHL 976.8434 X2pg 1850

1860

  • United Daughters of the Confederacy. Thomas Stewart Easley Chapter, no. 1814. Hickman County, Tennessee, United States Census, 1860.Centerville, Tennessee Printing Unlimited, n.d. FHL 976.8434 X2u 1860

1870

  • Bridges, Alec F.1870 Federal Census, Hickman County, Tennessee.Gallatin, Tennessee A.F. Bridges, 2000. FHL 976.8434 X29b 1870

1880

  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census Hickman County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler and Associates, 1999. FHL 976.8434 X2s 1880

1890 Lost Substitutes are available:

  • Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 8 1891. Hickman County is included in Vol. 8.
  • Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.

1891 Male Voters

1900

  • Bridges, Alec F.1900 Federal Census, Hickman County, Tennessee.Gallatin, Tennessee A.F. Bridges, 2001. FHL 976.8434 X29b 1900 v. 1-2.

1910

  • Tatum, Rubye and Bruce Tatum. 1910 Census, Hickman County, Tennessee.Lyles, Tennessee Tatum, 1984. FHL 976.8434 X2t 1910

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

  • Leeper, Kate and Paul Court records of Hickman County, Tennessee 1833-1856s.n., 1968 Free lookups available.
  • Dotson, Olgia Hickman County, Tennessee court records, 1814-1829 Centerville, Tennessee Hickman County Historical Society (TN), 2000. FHL US/CAN book 976.8434 R2dCourt

Law and Legislation

  • Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. To read more about this valuable resource Click here. The searchable index is available at the TSLA; another version is available at World Vital Records.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

  • Census takers found no 'Free Colored' heads of household in 1820 census of Hickman Co.[12]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Bibliography

  • Bates - Bates, James E. James Bates & Elizabeth Tubb, Parents of the 7 Bates Brothers of Hickman County, Tennessee?. Greenbelt, Md.: J.E. Bates, 1988. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B318bja.
  • Beasley - Lockhart, William Thomas. The Beasley Family of Benton, Henry, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys and Stewart Counties of Tennessee. Florissant, Missouri: W. Lockhart, 1985. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B38Lw.
  • Fowlkes - Olney, Adelle Whitby. Fowlkes of Virginia & Hickman County, Tennessee. San Bernardino, Calif.: A.W. Olney, 1974. FHL US/CAN Film 2397827 Item 4.
  • Moffitt - Young, Laurie M. Family Notes on Keith, Lott, Sketoe, Donahoo and Arnold of Muhlenberg: Lear and Sheffield of Christian, Todd and Muhlenberg County, Kentucky; Smith and Beck, Spencer County, Indiana; Moffitt, Randolph County, North Carolina, Perry, Hickman and Humphries Co., Tn. Boise, Idaho: L.M. Young, 1990. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 K269y.
  • Peery - Peery, Charles Lee. Genealogy of James Peery: Virginia Pioneer, Revolutionary War Veteran, Tennessee Frontiersman, Hickman County Resident, Ancestors and Descendants. Cullman, Ala.: Gregath, 1997. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 P345pg 1997.
  • Wilson - Bevell, John Calvin. Adam Reed Wilson of Hickman County Tennessee and Panola County Mississippi: A Record of His Ancestry, His Children and His Descendants. Monrovia, Calif.: J.C. Bevell, 1991. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 W691bjc.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

  • Hickman County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1808 and is located at the Courthouse, 8 Public Square, Centerville, Tennessee 37033; Telephone: (931) 729-2621. Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
  • The Family History Library has microfilm copies of deed books 1808-1892 with indexes 1983-1900; surveyor's books 1827-1901.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Dickson CountyWilliamson CountyMaury CountyLewis CountyPerry CountyHumphreys CountyTN HICKMAN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
The following Hickman County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:

Additional resources include:

War of 1812

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Men in Hickman County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Hickman County:

Confederate Soldiers

Union Soldiers

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Hickman County:

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

An RAOGK volunteer is willing to do obituary lookups in Hickman County newspapers covering the years 1878 to the present.
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Hickman County click on the following town:

  • 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.

For deaths of Methodists in Hickman County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try searching the following records:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Prisons[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The Hickman County Court has responsibility for the probate records. Many records are held by the Hickman County Archives.

Online Records and Indexes


Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1866-1982 - Dotson, Olgia. Hickman County Wills, 1866-1982. Nunnelly, Tennessee: O. Dotson, (1982). Indexed. (FHL book 976.8434 P2do.)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Book Abstracts and Indexes

  • 1815 Petition by Inhabitants Concerning Tax Complaint, 1815, Hickman County Historical Society Quarterly Bulletin, Vol. 12, No. 2 (2005).
  • 1817 "U.S. Holds 1817 Public Sale of Federal Tax-Delinquent Properties in Tennessee," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 43, No. 2 (Summer 1996):63-68. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 v. 43 (1996). For further access, see Hickman. [Includes Hickman County.]
  • 1836 Hughes, T.P. "Hickman County, Tennessee, 1836 Tax Record," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 27, No. 2 (Summer 1980):63-69. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 27 (1980);digital version at society's website. For further access, see Hickman.
  • 1836 1836 Tax List of Hickman, Tennessee. Lyles, Tenn.: Linn-Shell Pub. Co., 1987. FHL 976.8434 R4t

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

  • W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online;

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Hickman County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Hickman County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

J.B. Walker Memorial Library
120 West Swan St.
Centerville, TN 37033
Phone 931-729-5130
Fax: 1-931-729-4151
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Hickman County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
Hickman County Historical Society
7 Court House, 201 E Public Square
Centerville, TN 37033-1639
Phone: 931-729-3279
Website

Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
website

The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Hickman County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Hickman, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hickman_County,_Tennessee accessed 21 Dec 2018
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Hickman County, Tennessee, p.640
  4. Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
  5. Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 13 March 2016).
  8. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 640. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Hickman County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hickman_County,_Tennessee, accessed 22 November 2019.
  10. "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  11. *Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website.
  12. *Waldrep, G.C. "'Free Colored' Heads of Household in the 1820 Tennessee Census," available online, courtesy: Free African Americans website.
  13. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/d/d3/Igitennesseef.pdf.