Hillsborough County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hillsborough County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Tampa
Organized: January 25, 1834
Parent County(s): Alachua[1]
Neighboring Counties
Hardee  • Manatee  • Pasco  • Pinellas  • Polk  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
FloridaHillsboroughCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-hillsborough.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Wills Hill, the Earl of Hillsborough, who served as British Secretary of State for the Colonies from 1768 to 1772. The County is located in the West central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Hillsborough County Courthouse
419 N Pierce Street
Tampa, FL 33602
Phone: 813-276-8100
Hillsborough County Website

Clerk of Circuit Court - Tax Deeds
George E. Edgecomb Courthouse
800 Twiggs Street Room #103
Tampa, FL 33602

Clerk of Circuit Court - Marriage License, Recording, Records Library, Passports
419 Pierce
Room 140
Tampa, FL 33602

Clerk of Circuit Court - Annex Tower
Tampa, FL 33602

Clerk of Circuit Court - County Center
601 E. Kennedy Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33602

Brandon Office Clerk of Circuit Court - Brandon Regional Service Center
311 Pauls Drive
Suite 110
Brandon, FL 33511

SouthShore Office Clerk of Circuit Court- SouthShore Regional Service Center
410 30th St. S.E.
Ruskin, FL 33570

Plant City Office Clerk of Circuit Court - Plant City Courthouse
302 North Michigan Avenue
Plant City, FL 33563

County Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and land records.[3]

Hillsborough County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1875 1846 1900 1846 1837 1845 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Hillsborough County Courthouse, a small log cabin, was burned by Native Americans during the Second Seminole War.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
  • Bullfrog Corner
  • Bone Valley
  • Branchton
  • Callsville
  • Chataocolea
  • Chicora
  • Clarkwild
  • Coronet
  • Cork (now Dover,
  • not to be confused with two
  • other places named Cork)
  • Cork (now Plant City)
  • Cosme
  • Dillon
  • Diston
  • Drew Park, absorbed by Tampa
  • East Cove
  • Edeson
  • Flora
  • Gary
  • Gulf City
  • Harney
  • Hillsboro
  • Ichipucksassa (now Plant City)
  • Idlewild Park
  • Jackson Springs
  • Keystone Park
  • Knights
  • Knowles
  • Lake Fern
  • Lighthall
  • Lillibridge
  • Magdalene
  • Magnolia
  • Mangrove Point
  • Manhattan (absorbed by Tampa)
  • Marvinia
  • Midway
  • Mullins City
  • Nicholls
  • Oliphant
  • Orient
  • Peck
  • Pelot
  • Peru
  • Prairie
  • Riverhead
  • Rocky Point
  • Sparkman
  • Stemper
  • St Helena
  • Trapnell (absorbed by Plant City)
  • Youmans
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Hillsborough, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Hillsborough County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

There are over 300 Hillsborough Churches listed on this website, with their location indicated

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Tampa

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

|How to Use this Collection]]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.
A brief history of Hillsborough County is given on this website, along with links to other sources.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Pasco CountyPolk CountyHardee CountyManatee CountyPinellas CountyFL HILLSBOROUGH.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Hillsborough County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

Tampa Florida Family History Center
7851 Lutz Lake Fern Road
LUTZ Florida 33556-4110
813-421-4642
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Hillsborough County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

John F. Germany Public Library
900 N. Ashley Dr.
Tampa, Florida 33602-3788
Phone:813-273-3652
Website

The Hillsborough County Library History and Genealogy Department has a large collection with emphasis on Florida, the southeast region, the original thirteen colonies and all other states bordering on the Mississippi River.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Hillsborough County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave
Cocoa FL 32922
Phone: 321-690-1971
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland FL 32794-0927
Phone: 407-494-3747
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

45px
The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.


Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Highlands County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/24/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Hillsborough County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed 26 January 2019.