Hisøy Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hisøy, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hisøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Arendal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Hisøy
Kommune Arendal
Skifteretten Nedenes skifterett
Tinglag Nedenes
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Strengreid skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Hisøy prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for Hisøy parish. Was separated from Øyestad clerical district in 1871. See Øyestad clerical district for earlier records. Parish registers from 1849-1923.

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives)

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For 1664-1666, 1801, and 1865 census see Øyestad

  • 1875: The 1875 census for Hisøy clerical district is available on microfilm at the Family Historiy Library in Salt Lake City. This 1875 census contains the name of the farm or residence, the persons name, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1891: The 1891 census for Hisøy clerical district is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1900: The 1900 census for Hisøy clerical district is available on microfilm at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the name of the farm or resident, persons name, temporarily resident, temporarily absent and where person is, sex, position in the family, marital status, occupation, date of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

5 Engholmen,

1 Gjervoldsøen,

5 Hafsøen, 5 His,

8 Jomfruholmen,

7 Kallevig,

4 Løvold,

5 Skarvedalen, 6 Slubrevig, 5 Strømmen, 5 Stølsvigen,

3 Tangen, 5 Torungerne, 8 Trommestad,

2 Villumstad

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes judicial district to 1824
*1852-1892 Family History Library
*1852-1904 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names