Hollowell, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Hollowell, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Type||Ecclesiastical Parish (England)|
|County||Northamptonshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Brixworth|
|Parish registers: Not Known|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HOLLOWELL, a hamlet, in the parish and hundred of Guilsborough, union of Brixworth, S. division of the county of Northampton, 8 miles (N. W. by N.) from Northampton.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Hollowell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Hollowell Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.