Holme Eden, Cumberland Genealogy
Guide to Holme Eden, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Holme Eden, Cumberland|
|County||Cumberland, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Brampton; Carlisle|
|Registration District||Brampton; Carlisle|
|Parish registers: 1845|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1845|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
HOLME-EDEN, a chapelry in Wetheral and Hayton parishes, Cumberland; on the river Eden, near Wetheral r. station, and 5 miles W of Carlisle.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Holme Eden parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Holme Eden Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2, Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.