Holmen Parish København, København, Denmark Genealogy
Guide to Holmen, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
Holmen is a water-bound neighbourhood in Copenhagen, Denmark, occupying the former grounds of the Royal Naval Base and Dockyards. Holmen is a congregation of small islands, forming a north-eastern extension of Christianshavn between Zealand and the northern tip of Amager.
Though technically a part of the central Indre By district of Copenhagen, being a cul-de-sac as districts go, the area has a somewhat quiet and remote reputation and feel to it.
Holmen was also known as Bremerholm parish.
[1]
| Holmen Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift (diocese) | Københavns Stift |
| Pastorat (chapelry) | Holmens Pastorat |
| Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 | Add here |
| Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 | Copenhagen City |
| Herred (district) | Add here |
| Kommune (municipality) | Add here |
| 1788 – 1793 Lægd number | Add here |
| 1794 – 1869 Lægd number | Add here |
| Gods (estate) | Add here |
Street Names[edit | edit source]
Adelgade, Admiralgade, Asylgade
Balsamgade, Bjørnegade, Boldhusgade, Borgergade, Bremerholm, Bryggerlænge
Cort Adelers Gade
Delfingade, Dephingade, Dybensgade
Elephantgade, Elsdyrsgade, Enhjørnegade
Fortunstræde
Gernersgade, Grønlandsgade, Gaasegade
Halmstræde, Haregade, Havnegade, Heibergsgade, Herluf Trolles Gade, Hindegade, Hjertensfrydsgade, Hjortegade, Hjortelænge, Holbergsgade, Holmensgade, Holmens Kanal, Hoppenslænge, Hummergade, Hvælingen, Højbro Plads
Integade
Kamelgade, Kaningade, Kaninlænge, Kasserne, Kattegade, Kirkestræde, Klerkegade, Kongens Nytorv, Krokodillegade, Krusemøntegade
Labratorium, Labratorium på Christianshavn, Laksegade, Lavendelgade, Leopardlænge, Lille Kirkestræde, Lille Kongensgade, Lille Ulkegade, Lorentsensgade, Løvegade
Meriansgade
Nellikegade, Niels Juels Gade, Nikolajgade, Nikolaj Kirkegang, Nikolaj Plads/Torv, Nyboder, Nybygte Længe, Nygade, Nyhavn, Ny Østergade
Peder Skrams Gade, Peder Rodes Gade, Pendsvinegade
Reverentsgade, Rosengade, Rævegade
Sahlengade, Salviegade, Sankt Jørgensensgade, Skolemesterlænge, Skvaldergade, Slagtertorvet, Smedensgade, Store Kirkestræde, Store Kongensgade, Store Ulkegade, Stuengade, Størrestræde, Svanegade, Sølvgade
Tigergade, Timiansgade, Tordenskjoldsgade, Tulipangade, Tulipanlænge
Ulkegade, Ulvegade
Ved Stranden, Vingaardstræde
Østergade
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Free Online Database:
- The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
- The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
- Help Reading Danish Records:
- Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Genealogical Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Denmark Feast Day Calendars will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Personal Names.
- Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Genealogical Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Denmark Feast Day Calendars will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Personal Names.
- Help Reading Old Handwriting:
- FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting:
- Knowing What to Look for Next:
- To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.
Collections[edit | edit source]
- Church Records
- Census Records
- ARKIVALIERONLINE Census records online
- Censuses - Getting Started
- Denmark Census
- Census digitization/index availability - chart showing progress in census digitizing and indexing per location.
- Court Records
- Military Records
- Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
- Probate Records
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]
Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.
