Holt Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Holt, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Holt Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Aust-Nedenes prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Holt
Kommune Tvedestrand
Skifteretten Nedenes skifterett
Tinglag Nedenes
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Holt
Skipreide Bringsvær skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Holt clerical district, including the parishes Austre Moland, Flosta, Dypvåg, Arendal, Kristiansand, Holt, and Tromøy, parishes and is available on microfilm at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners, the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Holt clerical district, including Holt, Tromøy, Tvedestrand, Dypvåg, Austre Moland, Arendal, and Flosta, parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the names of the farms, farm owners, sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

  • 1701 Manntall: The 1701 tax census for Holt clerical district includes the parishes Holt, Tromøy, Arendal, Austre Moland, Flosta, and Dypvåg and is available on microfilm a the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It was taken for military purposes and lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Holt clerical district includes the parishes of Holt and Tvedestrandband is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the name of the farm, persons name, age, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the Univesity of Tromsø in Norway.


  • 1875: The census for Holt clerical district includes the parishes of Holt and Tvedestrand and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Holt clerical district includes the parishes of Holt and Tvedestrand and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It contains the name of the farm, persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, when born, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) or Norway as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.

  • 1910: The 1910 census for Holt is available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Svensen, Sv,: Holt: en bygdebok. History and vital information on residents and their farms in Holt, Aust-Agder co., Norway.

Innehold: del 1. Skipreder, herred og kirkesogn -- del 2. Gård og ætt.

FHL 948.28/H1 D2

Lilleholt, Halvor: Holt, en bygdebok. A genealogy of the people and their farms in Holt in Aust-Agder county.

FHL 948.28/H1 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 were as follows:

40 Aardalen, 12 Aasvik, 55 Angelstad, 47 Ausel,

35 Baaseland, 3 Bakke, 58 Berge, 58 Bergsmyren, 69 Birkenes, 11 Bjelland, 12 Bjørndalen, 73 Bordalen, 4 Bronsbu, 8 Buene, 59 Bukkebladkjærret, 30 Bækkeviken,

50 Dalen, 25 Dalene, 21 Dalstykket, 64 Dokkenes, 2 Dukene,

3 Eikehaugen,

32 Fiane, 57 Fostveit,

23 Gaaskjenn, 14 Garta nedre, 16 Garta øvre, 15 Gartarydningen, 32 Glastad, 29 Gliddi, 40 Glydalen, 25 Godderstad vestre, 58 Gordalshagen, 52 Grænsen,

58 Hagene, 67 Hagene, 24 Hagestad, 56 Haglien, 6 Hanto, 9 Harbones, 40 Hegland, 14 Helleren, 62 Hesnes, 66 Hofsdal, 58 Hofsnes,

21 Jorkjenn, 12 Jorundstad,

11 Kjendalen, 12 Kjenes, 17 Kjenes, 61 Kjærret, 9 Knutsvik, 42 Kroken, 22 Kvaastad, 7 Kvaastadlien, 12 Kverndalen, 71 Kvitberg,

65 Laget, 19 Langang, 6 Langesand, 27 Langetveit, 51 Lien vestre, 68 Lien østre, 38 Liene, 30 Lilleholt, 25 Lilleskog, 41 Lindeland, 53 Lunde, 13 Løvøen,

48 Midbø, 28 Myklebustad, 47 Myren,

44 Nes nedre, 72 Nes østre, 56 Noddeland, 63 Nævestad,

11 Oksekjærret,

33 Præstegaarden,

1 Raakenes, 17 Raana, 60 Ramlet, 59 Ramsdalen, 17 Refsnes, 70 Romundstad, 46 Rosseland, 38 Rossestøl, 27 Rydningen, 72 Rydningen, 12 Røttersvik,

8 Sagaasen, 12 Sanden, 12 Sandnes, 54 Sandvad, 12 Sjøverstø, 34 Skaaland, 50 Skjerkerydningen, 50 Skjerkholt, 10 Skottevik, 37 Skrattereid, 5 Skuggevik, 43 Sletten, 32 Solberg vestre, 73 Songe, 2 Stamnes, 72 Stea, 28 Steane, 60 Steane, 32 Stornes, 17 Strengereid, 61 Strømmen, 65 Strømsland, 67 Støle, 6 Sunde, 53 Sundsdalen, 13 Svansvik, 61 Svartkjær, 49 Sætane,

2 Tangen, 2 Tangen ytre, 20 Torp, 59 Tveite, 8 Tøa,

16 Ulsryggen,

39 Vaaland, 61 Valle, 47 Vassenden, 19 Vasstø, 18 Vivesøl, 11 Vivesølmyren, 12 Vrangesund,

12 Ødegaarden, 61 Ødegaarden, 36 Øines, 49 Østebø, 2 Østeraa, 60 Østeraadalen

The farm names as found in Holt En Bygdebok (1940) (1951) are as follows:

Angelstad, Ausel,

Bakke, Bakkeli, Berge, Bergehagene, Birkenes, Bjelland, Bjørkenes vestre, Bjørnstad, Blivollen, Bronsbu, Buene, Bunes, Båsland,

Dalane, Dokkenes,

Eikeland,

Fiane, Fjerklev, Fosstveit, Fosstveit nedre,

Gangdalen, Garta, Gladstad, Gliddi, Glydalen, Goderstad, Goderstad østre, Goderstad vestre, Greina, Grændsen, Grændstøl, Gåskjenn,

Hagelia, Hagen, Hagestad, Haneto, Hegland, Hesnes, Hestehagen, Hofsdal, Holmen, Holtsmyra, Hvideberg,

Joranstad, Jordkjenn, Jorstad,

Kjendalen, Klepshaug, Knutsvik, Kroken, Kvastad, Kvastadlia, Kverendalen, Kvernvollen, Kviteberg,

Laget, Langang, Langtveit, Lia vestre, Liane, Lilleholt, Lindland, Lunde, Løvøya,

Midtbø, Myklebustad,

Nedre Solberg, Nes, Nes Nedre, Nes Verk, Nes østre, Nes øvre, Nevestad, Noddeland, Nygård, Nyplass, Nævestad,

Ramlet, Romundstad, Rosland, Rosstøl, Rønningen, Råkenes,

Sandvad, Sjøverstø, Skjerkholt, Skottevik, Skrattereid, Skuggevik, Skåland, Skålandsdalen, Sletta, Slotta, Solberg, Solberg østre, Solberg vestre, Songe, Stea, Strandhagen, Strengereid, Strømmen, Strømsland, Støle, Sundsdal, Svartekjær, Sveiningen,

Torp, Tveite,

Ulfsryggen,

Valle, Valle Vetre, Valle østre, Varden, Vasstø, Vivesøl, Vivesølmyra, Våland,

Øines, Østebø, Østerå, Østerådalen, Øvernes, Øygården

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Merker, Bertha, 1903: Data on marriage and migration of Gunhild Thorsdatter, Østre Nes, Holt. With: Ancestry of Halvor Knutson, husband of Johanne Torsdatter, Østre Nes/researched and written by Bertha Merker. Includes Jeppesen, Moe and related families. Gunhild Torsdatter (b.1827) married Hans Evensen in 1851, and in 1854 the family immigrated from Norway to Iowa County, Wisconsin. Includes some family history and genealogical data about relatives and ancestors in the parish of Holt, Aust-Agder County, Norway, and in Iowa County, Wisconsin.

FHL 929.273 A1

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Holt (Austre Nedenes) judicial district
*1825-1857 Family History Library
*1823-1911 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet

References[edit | edit source]

Lilleholt, Halvor.Holt En Bygdebok. Kristiansand: Edgar Høgfeldt, 1951.

Svensen, Sven. Holt En Bygdebok. Stavanger: Dreyers Grafiske Anstalt, 1940. (Re-printed Tvedestrand, 1978)

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names