Hommedal Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Hommedal, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hommedal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Hommedal
Kommune Grimstad
Skifteretten Nedenes skifterett
Tinglag Nedenes
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Grimstad
Skipreide Bringsvær skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Hommedal prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records for the parishes Landvik and Eide in Hommedal clerical district. Included Herefoss parish until 1875 when it became Herefoss clerical district. Parish registers from 1690-1929.

  • Digitized parish registers available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census was taken by the local parish priests. It covers Hommedal clerical district, including the parishes of Landvik, Herefoss, Eide, and Hommedal parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners, the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census was taken by the local civil authorities. It covers Hommedal clerical district, including Landvik, Herefoss, Eide, and Hommedal parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the names of the farms, farm owners, sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

  • 1701 Manntall: The 1701 tax census for Hommedal clerical district includes the parishes of Hommedal, Landvik, and Eide and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.

  • 1801: This census for Hommedal clerical district includes Landvik, Eide, Hommedal, and Herefoss parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the farm name, person,s name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


  • 1825: A special 1825 census for Hommedal clerical district, including the parishes of Landvik, Eide, and Hommedal clerical district exists and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It includes the farm names, head of household, his wife, children, other family members staying in household, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

  • 1865: The 1865 census for Hommedal clerical district includes the parishes of Landvik, Herefoss, Eide, and Hommedal and is available on microfilm at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway; as well as at theNorwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Hommedal clerical district and includes 'Hommedal, Lavik, and Eide parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This 1875 census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Hommedal clerical district includes Hommedal, Eide, and Landvik and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Sand (Vestre Nedenes) judicial district to 1824
*1826-1879 Family History Library
*1826-1907 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet]