To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Horam Christ Church, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Horam Christ Church, Sussex)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Horam Christ Church, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Horam Christ Church is in the hamlet of Horam in the Wealden District of East Sussex and was formed from the Ancient Parish of Waldron, Sussex which also included the iron chapel at Vines Cross dedicated to St James. Horam is a village and civil parish three miles south of Heathfield.

The history of the church is available at Sussex Parish Churches Horam Christ Church & St James Vines Cross

Sussex Online Parish Clerks Horam Christ Church St James Vines Cross

Also in Horam were Ebenezer Strict Baptist Chapel Stonehill Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Horam Chapel a Modern Evangelical Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Wesleyan Chapel, Gamelands Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

a list of places to worship in Wealden Wikipedia

See also Horam Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection 

Census records[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.