Horsted Keynes, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Horsted Keynes, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Horsted Keynes, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: 1638|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1605|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HORSTED-KEYNES (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Danehill-Horsted, rape of Pevensey. E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (E. N. E.) from Cuckfield; There is a place of worship for Baptists at Danehill. A free school was founded, and endowed with an estate.
Horsted Keynes St Giles is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex.
Church History Horsted Keynes St Giles
The Parish church of St Giles has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Prime Minister Harold Macmillan was buried in the churchyard of St Giles after his death in December 1986, alongside his wife Dorothy, who died 20 years previously. Harold Macmillan 1894-1986
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Horsted Keynes, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Horsted Keynes, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1638-1943 Marr 1638-1946 Bur 1638-1948 Bishop's Transcripts 1605-1893
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Horsted Keynes
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.