Horwich, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Horwich, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Horwich, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Salford |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Bolton |
| Registration District | Bolton |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1660 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1749 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Bolton le Moors |
| Diocese | Manchester |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Contents
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
HORWICH, a chapelry, in the parish of Deane, union of Bolton, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 4 miles west by northwest of Bolton. The present chapel, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, was erected by at least the year 1661. There are three places of worship for dissenters.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church of England
Horwich chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Deane to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = findmypast (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| HORWICH CHAPELRY (1660) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| AC | 1660-1812 | 1660-1812 | 1660-1812 | ||
| AC | 1813-1860 | 1832-1881 | 1813-1873 | ||
| FS | 1660-1841 | 1832-1835, 1854-1881, 1910-1935 | 1820-1879 | ||
| LOPC | 1695-1860 | 1854-1881 | 1695-1873 | ||
| DEANE PARISH ST MARY THE VIRGIN (1636) Indexes (ancient parish containing HORWICH Chapelry) | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1604-1829 | 1604- 1812 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1604-1750 | 1604-1750; 1837-1890 | 1604-1684; 1813-1887 | ||
| AC | 1613-1750 | 1613-1750 | None | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1992 | ||||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Horwich and comprising the whole ancient parish of Deane to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the DEANE ST MARY PARISH page.
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1541 - 1541 Subsidy of Horwyche (p. 139)[2]
- 1622 - 1622 Subsidy of Horwich (p. 151)[2]
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
![[tree]](/wiki/en/File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 559-562. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
