Hougham-in-Dover, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Hougham-in-Dover, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Dover|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1603|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HOUGHAM (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Dover, partly in the hundred of Bewsborough, lathe of St. Augustine, and partly within the jurisdiction of the Cinque Port liberty of Dover, E division of Kent. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Hougham in Dover Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed in 1844 from part of the Hougham, Kent Genealogy Ancient Parish.
The Church stood on the Folkestone Road and was demolished for residential development.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Hougham like this:
HOUGHAM, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Dover district, Kent. The village stands near the Southeastern railway, 1 mile from the coast, and 2½ WSW of Dover. The parish contains also the hamlets of Hougham Court and West Hougham, and the western outskirts of the town of Dover; and is partly within Dover borough. Post town, Dover. Acres, 3,275; of which 280 are water. Real property, exclusive of the part within Dover borough, £3,700. Pop. of the whole, in 1851, 2,639; in 1861, 3,372.
Houses, 389. The increase of pop. was caused by building operations of a Freehold Land Society, and by the opening of three new brickfields. Pop. of the part within Dover borough, in 1861, 2,800. Houses, 285. The Heights barracks, the Citadel Engineers' barracks, the Western Heights hospital, the Drop redoubt, the Married Soldiers' quarters, and the Kent Artillery Militia stores are here; and, at the census of 1861, they aggregately had 1,263 inmates. The property is much subdivided. The chapelry of Christ Church, or of Hougham-in-Dover, is within the parish; was constituted in 1844; and contained 1,803 of the pop. in 1861. The parochial living is a vicarage, and that of Christ Church is a p. curacy, in the diocese of Canterbury. Value of the former, £185; of the latter, not reported.* Patron of the former, the Archbishop of Canterbury; of the latter, Trustees. The parochial church is early English, and has been partially restored and enlarged. The church of Christ Church is good.—The sub-district contains twelve parishes and an extra parochial tract. Acres, 19, 821. Pop., 8,242. Houses, 1,301
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hougham-in-Dover parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|Hougham-in-Dover Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 559-562. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.