Houghton le Spring, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Houghton le Spring

Guide to Houghton le Spring, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Houghton le Spring, Durham
Houghton le Spring St Michael & All Angels Co Durham.jpg
Houghton le Spring St Michael & All Angels Co Durham
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Easington
County Durham, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Houghton le Spring
Registration District Chester le Street; Houghton le Spring
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563; Separate registers exist for West Herrington beginning 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Easington
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham County Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

HOUGHTON-LE-SPRING (St. Michael), a town and parish, and the head of a union, in the N division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 6½ miles NE from Durham, and 266 NNW from London. There are meeting-houses for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Additional information:
St Michael Houghton-le-Spring is an ancient parish and parts of the church are Norman, the remainder are from the thirteenth century.

The parish includes Biddick Waterville, Burn Moors, Cocken, Eppleton, East and Middle Herrington, West Herrington, Offerton, South Biddick, Moor House, Morsley, Middleton Grange, Offerton and Warden Law.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Houghton le Spring Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Durham
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Durham ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England Select Births, Marriages, Death, and Burials ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library has Methodist Circuit Baptisms and Marriages This book shows dates, places and names of individuals. This is a large book with thousands of entries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals,[edit | edit source]

Betts, Enid. A Sanderson Family and Its Branches. History of Stepen Sanderson born 1811, and his wife Elizabeth Aisbitt and descendants. According to the IGI the Sandersons were in Houghton le Spring, from the late 1500s. Other areas the descendants were in: Eighton Banks, Gateshead Pelaw, Bishop Wearmouth, with a branch going to USA and another branch to Australia. Surnames mention: Liddell, Fenwick, Wynn, Armstrong, Hunter, Best, Murray, Reay, Lockey, Wanless and Smith. Article dated 1560-1985, and is found in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol. 27, no. 3, pages 92-95. Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v. 27. no. 3.(autumn 2002)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Houghton le Spring on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 562-566. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.