To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

 

Guide to Howard County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Nashville
Organized: April 17, 1873
Parent County(s): Pike, Hempstead, Polk, and Sevier[1]
Neighboring Counties
Hempstead  • Little River  • Montgomery  • Pike  • Polk  • Sevier
See County Maps
Courthouse
ArkansasHowardCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Ar-howard.png
Adoption
The Crossatot River at Cossatot Reefs Park, Howard County, AK.

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for State Senator James Howard.[2] It is located in the southwest of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Howard County Courthouse
421 N Main Street
Nashville, AR 71852
Phone: 870.845.7502
Howard County Website

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1873 and some cemetery records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records from 1873[4]

Howard County, Arkansas[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1914* 1873 1914* 1873 1873 1873 1830
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Townships
  • Blackland
  • Blue Bayou
  • Blue Ridge
  • Brewer
  • Buck Range
  • Burg
  • Center Point
  • Clay
  • County Line
  • Dillard
  • Duckett
  • Franklin
  • Holly Creek
  • Madison
  • Mineral Springs
  • Mountain
  • Muddy Fork
  • Nashville
  • Saline
  • Saratoga
  • Tollette


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Howard County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]

  • 1819 - One of the first settlers was John Tollett, a Methodist minister from Bledsoe County, Tennessee.
  • 1820s - This area was also part of the land given to the Choctaw in exchange for property in Mississippi.
  • 1820s - Choctaw inhabitation of the area discouraged settlement by white people for several years.
  • 1873 April 17 - Howard County was created from portions of Pike, Polk, Hempstead, and Sevier counties.
  • 1880s - The railroads arrived, connecting Howard County to the rest of the state and beyond.
  • 1920-1970 - The decline of the cotton industry had a ripple effect on the community. The county’s population peaked in 1920 and subsequently declined with each census until 1970.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Howard, Arkansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Arkansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1880 9,917
1890 13,789 39.0%
1900 14,076 2.1%
1910 16,898 20.0%
1920 18,565 9.9%
1930 17,489 −5.8%
1940 16,621 −5.0%
1950 13,342 −19.7%
1960 10,878 −18.5%
1970 11,412 4.9%
1980 13,459 17.9%
1990 13,569 0.8%
2000 14,300 5.4%
2010 13,789 −3.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

  • Probate Records 1873-1970 Howard County portion of the collection: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 : Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration and guardian records 1873-1949; Adminstration and executor bonds 1873-1945; Probate records 1873-1889; Wills 1873-1970.

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Polk CountyMontgomery CountyPike CountyHempstead CountyLittle River CountySevier CountyAR HOWARD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Men in Howard County served in various regiments and companies. Those listed below were specifically formed in this county:

- 5th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), The Davis Blues

Online Records

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]

Birth Records reveal
Yes or Maybe
 Y  M
Name of Child Green check.png  
Birth Date and Place Green check.png  
Parent's Names Green check.png  
Mother's Maiden Name   Green check.png
Parent's Ages Green check.png  
Father's Occupation Green check.png  
Current Residence Green check.png  
Name of Doctor or Midwife Green check.png  

In 1877, a few county and city clerks[9] started keeping birth and death records.

In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.

ArrowGreen.svg.png

See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Howard County, ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • RootsWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Howard County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/howard/
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Arkansas
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Howard County, Arkansas. Page 68 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 66.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Howard County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Howard_County,_Arkansas, accessed 17 September 2018.
  8. Lauren White, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=775&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent= : accessed January 13, 2016), “Howard County.”
  9. such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
  10. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records," in FamilySearch Wiki.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.