Hulme St Mark, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Hulme St Mark, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hulme St Mark, Lancashire|
|County||Lancashire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Chorlton|
|Parish registers: 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
HULME (St. Mark), a chapelry, in the civil parish boundaries of Manchester, union of Chorlton, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire. St Mark's was built in the year 1846 and created from Hulme St George. Consecrated in 1848 it became redundant in 1949. It was subsequently redeveloped and converted into luxury apartments. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and other denominations of dissenters; and numerous daily, Sunday, and infant schools. Among the public institutions are, the workhouse for the Chorlton union.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online transcriptions for Hulme St Mark Chapelry exist. The links to online transcriptions include also most of its additional 10 sister chapelries. These chapelries comprise the large township of Hulme, which partly comprises one of the larger chapelry districts within the boundary of the ancient parish of Manchester (Cathedral) Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which all were attached.
Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|HULME ST MARK (1847) Indexes|
|HULME CHRIST CHURCH Cemetery Chapel (1835)|
|LBMD||1837-1936||1837-1900 - part.||1837-1864|
|HULME HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1843) Indexes|
|HULME ST GABRIEL Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|HULME ST GEORGE Chapelry (1828) Indexes|
|FS||1832-1862||1911-1931 - part.||None|
|HULME ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1856) Indexes|
|HULME ST MARK Chapelry Indexes|
|HULME ST MARY Chapelry (1858) Indexes|
|FS||1858-1931 - part.||1859-1951 - part.||None|
|HULME ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1861) Indexes|
|FS||1861-1932 - part.||1864-1963 - part.||None|
|HULME ST PAUL Chapelry (1855) Indexes|
|FS||1855-1920||1858-1955 - part.||None|
|HULME ST PHILIP Chapelry (1859) Indexes|
|FS||1859-1931 - part.||1860-1954 - part.||None|
|HULME ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1863) Indexes|
|FS||1863-1930 - part.||1870-1954 - part.||None|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes - the ancient parish
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original parish (chapelry) registers for St. Mark's, Hulme, 1847-1941 exist and are housed at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
Hulme St Mark's was one of ten Hulme Township chapelries--but all within Manchester ancient parish's boundary. Manchester Central Library call nos. are: M383/1/1/1-10, M383/1/2/1-9, M383/1/3/1-8.
FamilySearch has also microfilmed all ten of these original parish (chapelry) registers (Christ Church was a cemetery and crematoria only) and most of the data has been transcribed and is now searchable online at its website. To see the original chapelry registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, see the FamilySearch Catalog online.
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites [edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 574-580 Date Accessed 21 October 2013
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..