To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Humboldt County, California Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Humboldt County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Humboldt County, California
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 12, 1853
County Seat Eureka
Courthouse
CaliforniaHumboldtCourthouse.jpg
Address Humboldt County Courthouse
 825 5th St;
Eureka, CA 95501;
Phone 707.476.2384 

Humboldt County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Humboldt County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1873 1864 1873 1853 1874 1853 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1905. General compliance by 1920.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]


County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1853 County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and burial and land records[2]


Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Humboldt County, California

Parent Counties[edit | edit source]

12 May 1853: Humboldt County was created from Trinity County and part of the former Klamath County.
County seat: Eureka [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named from Humboldt Bay. The County Seat is Eureka and was founded 1853.[4] It is located in the North West area of the state.[5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

1924--Humboldt County Courthouse damaged by fire. County records were not destroyed.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Unincorporated communities
Native American communities
Census-designated places


Indian Reservations or Rancherias[edit | edit source]

The Big Lagoon Indian Rancheria is located in this county.

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Humboldt, California online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See California Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Humboldt County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Humboldt County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Hydesville

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Humboldt County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Del Norte CountySiskiyou CountyTrinity CountyMendocino CountyCA HUMBOLDT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Regiments. Service men in Humboldt County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Humboldt County, California Genealogy:

- 1st Battalion Mountaineers, California Infantry (Union), Company A
- 1st Battalion Mountaineers, California Infantry (Union), Company B
- 1st Battalion Mountaineers, California Infantry (Union), Company C
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Humboldt County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Humboldt - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Societies[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Humbolt County Historical Society
703 8th St
Eureka, California 95501
Phone:(707) 445-4342
E-Mail:[1]
Website

Humboldt County Genealogical Society
2336 – G Street
Eureka CA 95501

Humboldt County Historical Society
PO Box 8000
Eureka, CA 95502

Redwood Genealogical Society
PO Box 645
Fortuna, CA 95540
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Humboldt County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Humboldt County, California. Page 84 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Humboldt County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/humboldt/#.WQeZFjEzqM8 5/01/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Humboldt County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humboldt_County,_California 5/01/2017.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Humboldt County, California," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humboldt_County,_California, accessed DATE.