Humboldt County, Nevada Genealogy
Guide to Humboldt County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the Humboldt River. Humboldt County is located in the northwestern area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Humboldt County Courthouse
50 W 5th Street
Winnemucca, NV 89445
Humboldt County Website
County Clerk has marriage records from 1881, divorce and court records from 1863, probate records from 1900 and naturalization records from 1864.
County Recorder has land records.
Humboldt County, Nevada Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
- Parent County: created 25 November 1861 as an original county
- County seat: Winnemucca 
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Nevada Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Other locations within the county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web site has additional information on Humboldt county cemeteries.
- Interment.net Nevada cemetery records by county.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
The first enumeration for Nevada before it was a state in 1864, was in the 1850 Census in both New Mexico and Utah Territories, but the area had not been divided into counties. Those living there may be in the Utah 1851 Census. For 1860, Nevada was again enumerated in New Mexico and Utah Territories.  A partial state census exists for Nevada in 1862 and 1863 and a full state census exists for 1875.  See links listed below.
State and Territory Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1850 United States Census, 1850 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1850 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 United States Census, 1860 at FamilySearch Historical Records — index and images; Nevada was included in both the 1860 New Mexico and Utah Territory Censuses.
- 1860 Nevada, Compiled Census Index, 1860-1910 at Ancestry ($), index
- 1862-1863 1862-1863 Nevada Territory Tax List - Index
- 1875 Nevada State Census, 1875 at Ancestry.com ($), index
Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Censuses were taken for the state of Nevada starting in 1870. Although, those living in south-eastern Nevada in 1870 may be enumerated in Utah or Arizona because of disputed boundaries with Nevada. For links to Federal Census indexes, see Nevada Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.
Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level. Search the FamilySearch Catalog - Place Search
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Court Records[edit | edit source]
The County Clerk acts as clerk to the 6th Judicial District Court, maintains the court records for the District Court.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Humboldt – LAND AND PROPERTY
The County Recorder is responsible for recording, scanning/microfilming and indexing of Real Estate Transactions, Mining Claim Locations and Assessment Work, Contracts, Leases, Judgments, UCC/Fixture Filing Statements, Liens, Maps and other miscellaneous documents.
- 1796-1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863-1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com ($), index and images
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
For more information see Nevada Land and Property
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
County histories may include biographies of early settlers and residents, church and school information, and local military regiments at the time of publication.
- Harden City (Harveyville) and the Black Rock Excitement. By Alan H. Patera. N.d. N.p: n.p. FamilySearch Books.
- The Humboldt Range: 19th Century Mining Camps. c1995. By Alan H. Patera. Lake Grove, OR : Western Places. At various libraries(WorldCat).
Online County Histories
- Ghosts of Humboldt Region: A Glimpse into Pershing County's Past. c1970. By Dave Basso. Sparks, Nevada : Western Print & Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive; At various libraries(WorldCat).
- The Silver State: Nevada's Heritage Reinterpreted. c1991. By James W. Hulse. Reno, Nevada : University of Nevada Press. Online at: Google Books; At various libraries(WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Nevada - shows boundary changes for Nevada Counties
- Historical Maps and Atlases of Nevada - maps and atlases of Nevada
- Historical Maps of Nevada
- David Rumsey Collection for Nevada
- Perry-Castaneda Map Collection for Nevada
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Humboldt County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Online Collections[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Nevada, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1863-1866 Nevada Civil War Volunteers, 1863-1866 ($) at Ancestry — index
World War I
World War II
- Nevada Casualties of World War II
- 1940-1945 - Nevada, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Korea
- U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Nevada
- Nevada Military Killed in Action in Vietnam
- The Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Nevada
- Vietnam Conflict Casualty Lists - Nevada
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For more information, see Nevada Newspapers.
Search the FamilySearch Catalog by Place Search for Humboldt, Nevada. Check the records for Newspapers. See if films are available at a local family history center. Public libraries may have copies of books or order through Interlibrary Loan.
- GenealogyBank ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Newspaper Archive ($), contains images of Nevada newspapers
- Chronicling America - contains images of some Nevada newspapers; searching tips
- Elephind - Free; search engine that retrieves newspaper images from other free newspaper websites
Nevada Newspaper Catalogs
- U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1871-1992 Nevada County Birth and Death Records, 1871-1992 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1975-2012 Nevada Birth Index 1975-2012 at Ancestry ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1809-2011 Western States Marriage Index, 1809-2011 - Index, incomplete, list of counties included
- 1862-1992 Nevada County Marriages, 1862-1993 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1956-2005 Nevada Marriage Index 1956-2005 at Ancestry ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Humboldt County Library
85 East 5th Street
Winnumucca, NV 89445
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Humboldt County Genealogical Society
c/o Humboldt County Library
85 E Fifth St
Winnemucca, NV 89445
- Northeastern Nevada Genealogical Society
1515 Idaho Street
Elko, NV 89801-4021
- Nevada State Genealogical Society
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 20666
Reno, NV 89515-0666
- Nevada Historical Society
1650 North Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89503
- Clark County Nevada Genealogy Society
PO Box 1929
Las Vegas, NV 89125-1929
- Tri-State Genealogical Society
For Arizona, California, Nevada
PO Box 21902
Bullhead City, AZ 86439
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Humboldt GenWeb Project, a member of the NVGenWeb Project: Genealogy and Local History in Nevada (with jurisdictions for Nevada) is an affiliate of the USGenWeb Project. The USGenWeb project may have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Humboldt County, Kentucky" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humboldt_County,_Nevada."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Humboldt County, Oregon page 442, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Humboldt County, Nevada. Page 442. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 428.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Humboldt County, Nevada," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humboldt_County%2C_Nevada accessed 15 March 2017.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 211.
- ’'Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 437. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 422. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
- William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 212.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).