To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Huron County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Huron County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Huron County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 1, 1840
County Seat Bad Axe
Courthouse
Address Huron County Courthouse
250 E Huron Ave.
Bad Axe, MI 48413-1317
Phone: (517) 269-9942
Huron County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Lake Huron. The County has Bad Axe as its seat and the County was created 1859. The County is located in the east area of the state.[1]

Huron County, Michigan Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1867 1867 1867 1837 1861 1820
Statewide registration started in 1867 for births and deaths. General compliance by 1915.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]


County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, divorce and court records 1867.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [3]

History[edit | edit source]

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1840--Huron County was created 1 April 1840 from Sanilac County. It was attached to Saginaw, St. Clair, and Sanilac Counties prior to ogranization 25 January 1859.  County seat: Bad Axe [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

See COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records.
For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Sanilac  • Tuscola

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MIGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MIInterment
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Michigan Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

State Census

Church[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Huron County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps[edit | edit source]

Tuscola CountySanilac CountyMI HURON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]
World War I[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Finding More Michigan Newspapers[edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Huron County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Huron and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Huron County Genealogical Society
2843 Electric Ave.
Pt. Huron 48060

Huron Shore Genealogical Society
6010 N. Skeel Ave.
Oscoda 48750

Huron Valley Genealogical Society
1100 Atlantic St.
Milford 48381

Huron County Genealogical Society
PO Box 321004
Flint, MI 48532
E-mail:HuronCo@yahoo.com
Website

HURON SHORES GENEALOGICAL SOCIETY
c/o Robert J. Parks Public Library
6010 N. Skeel Avenue
Oscoda, MI 48750-1577
Telephone: 989-739-9581
E-mail:huronshoresgs@yahoo.com
Website


Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Genealogical Society[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Huron County, Michigan" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huron_County,_Michigan."
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Huron County, Michigan . Page 343-351 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 346-349.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Huron County, Michigan page 346, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Huron County, Michigan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Huron_County,_Michigan, accessed 01 October 2019.