Hurstpierpoint, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Hurstpierpoint, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HURST-PIERREPOINT (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 9 miles (N.) from Brighton; The Independents and Wesleyans have each a place of worship.
Hurstpierpoint Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Sayers Common. The civil parish of Hurstpierpoint with Sayers Common is in the Mid Sussex district of West Sussex.
Hustpierpoint St George was formed as a chapelry in this parish. The history of both churches is found at Hurstpierpoint Holy Trinity and St George
The parish church of Holy Trinity has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
The church of St George has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Hurstpierpoint Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) includes other places of Worship
A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 591-594. here
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralized Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Hurstpierpoint, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|Hurstpierpoint, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1558-1978 Marr 1559-1969 Bur 1558-1972 Bishop's Transcripts 1607-1894
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hurstpierpoint
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
1911 Census for England and Wales (Findmypast)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 591-594. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987).
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 19 January 2021.