Ibestad Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ibestad, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

PARISH NAME
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Ibbestad
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Ibbestad
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Senjen
Skipreide add here



Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ibestad clerical district contains parish registers for the parishes Ibestad, Andørja, Gratangen and Astafjord. Included Bardu parish until 1853 when it was annexed to Målselv clerical district and Salangen and Lavangen parishes until 1907 when they became Salangen clerical district. Records begin in 1751.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.


Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 20: Modern Nordland county, modern Troms county and modern Finnmark county, is available online Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Ibestad clerical district includes the parishes of Ibestad, Astafjord, Dyrøy, Tranøy and Lenvik and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online in a scanned format at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).


  • Census (manntall) 1701, no. 19: Senja and Tromsø fogderi available online at Digitalarkivet.



  • Folketellingen den 1ste februar 1801, Ibestad. The 1801 census for Ibestad clerical district available online at Digitalarkivet.


  • Folketelling 1825, 1845, og 1846, Ibestad prestegjeld (Troms). The 1825, 1845 and 1846 census for Ibestad clerical district includes the parishes of Ibestad, Salangen, Lavangen, Andørja, Gratangen, Astafjord and Bardu and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.


  • Folketelling 1825 Ibestad prestegjeld (Troms). The 1825 census for Ibestad available online at Digitalarkivet.


  • Folketelling 1846 Ibestad prestegjeld (Troms). The 1846 census for Ibestad available online at Digitalarkivet.





  • Folketellingen for Norge den 3dje desember 1900. The 1900 census for Ibestad clerical district includes the parishes of Ibestad, Salangen, Lavange, Gratangen, Astafjord and Andørja and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet for Ibestad and at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

104 Aa indre, 40 Aakenes, 108 Aandervaag, 103 Aanstad, 111 Aarbostad, 65 Aarsandvik, 41 Aarstein,

67 Bakkejorden, 74 Balteskaret, 29 Belnes, 59 Beritsletten, 47 Bjørkmoen, 95 Bolla indre, 102 Breivik, 85 Breivold,

57 Dalen nedre, 43 Dalsletten, 77 Djupvik, 94 Dyrstad,

78 Elvebakken, 50 Elvenes, 51 Elveneshaugen, 107 Engene,s

46 Fjeldda,l 44 Fjeldhøiden, 42 Fjordbotn, 61 Foldvik, 75 Fornes, 113 Fornes, 82 Forsaa indre, 100 Fugleberg,

76 Gravfjordens Almenning, 115 Gregusvik, 52 Grimjorden, 65 Grov, 35 Grøsnes lille,

101 Hallevik, 53 Haugen, 87 Havnvik, 66 Helleren, 37 Hesjeberg, 63 Hilleshavn, 45 Holtaas,

88 Ibbestad Præstegaard, 102 Igeland,

112 Jægtevik,

110 Klaapen, 114 Kraakrø, 79 Krokmyrdalen, 48 Kvernmoen,

56 Laberget mellem, 70 Laberget søndre, 106 Laupstad, 36 Lavik, 84 Lilleskog, 91 Lund, 31 Løvdal lille,

71 Marskaret, 73 Miklevold, 77 Moldvik, 84 Myren, 33 Myrland, 32 Myrlandshaugen,

69 Opdal, 49 Osvold,

86 Parten,

80 Rensaa, 99 Roldnes nordre,

68 Saltvandet, 54 Sandnes, 102 Seglstein, 28 Selnes, 92 Selset nedre, 39 Skifte indre, 83 Storskog, 64 Stræte, 109 Strømmen, 55 Strømsnes, 96 Svartholtet, 60 Svortebækken,

72 Tortenvik, 62 Tyvskjær,

109 Vasskaret, 91 Vik

Det Gamle Alstafjord og Ibestad Volume II Gårder og Slekter

Aa, Aakenes, Aandervåg, Aanstad, Aarbostad, Aarsand, Aarsanden, Aarsandvik, Aarstein, Aarvik, Amundsvik, Andersminne, Annaminde, Aspelien, Austby, Austreheim, Bakkehaug, Bakkejord, Bakkemolen, Balteskar, Banhågen, Belnes, Bertusminne, Bjerkmoen, Bjørklund, Bjørsbakken, Bolla, Borgerleiet, Brændmoen, Branmo, Bratberg, Breidablikk, Breistrand, Breivik, Breivoll, Brekkan, Dalen, Dalsletten, Danielløkken, Djupviken, Dypvik, Dyrstad, Elvebakken, Elvelund, Elvenes, Elveneshaugen, Elverhøi, Elvesletten, Elvevold, Enevold, Engenes, Ensomheten, Eriksminne, Fagerbakken, Fagerheim, Finnvik, Fjelldal, Fjellhøiden, Fjordbotn, Fjordbotten, Flatmo, Foldvik, Fornes, Forneshavn, Forså, Fredheim, Fremtiden, Fugleberg, Furås, Furnes, Gabriels Minde, Gabrielsminne, Gamman, Gratangen, Gratangsbotn, Graverveita, Gregorsvik, Gregusvik, Grenesletten, Grimjord, Grøsnes, Grøttangsbotten, Grov, Hagenes, Hallevik, Hansvold, Hansvoll, Haugen, Haugnes, Haugneset, Havnesodden, Havneteigen, Havnnes, Hellaren, Henriksletten, Henriksminne, Hesjeberg, Hilleshavn, Høgnesmoen, Holtås, Høybaken, Høysletten, Hundsnes, Hustomt, Ibestad, Igeland, Jægerbakken, Jektvik, Jensvold, Johansborg, Johnsborg, Jondinaheim, Jonsvoll, Jøvika, Kalveskinnet, Karlstad, Koldesletten, Kjersem, Kleiva, Klopen, Kongshaugen, Kongsvoll, Kovan, Kråkrø, Kråkrøhavn, Krokmyrdal, Kveldro, Kvenmoen, Ladberg, Lagatun, Lailand, Lamoen, Laryggen, Laupstad, Lauvdal, Lavik, Lavollen, Leirbakken, Leirvåg, Lien, Lillehaugen, Lilleng, Lilleskog, Lølund, Løteigen, Løvika, Løvmoen, Løvsletten, Lund, Madzvig, Maiviknesset, Markbakken, Marskar, Miklevolll, Milmarken, Mobakken, Moen, Mølnesletten, Molund, Mortensminde, Myrengen, Myrland, Myrlandshaug, Myrlund, Myrvoll, Næsset, Naustvolden, Nautnaes, Nebbestenen,Nergården, Nese, Niphaugen, Nøisomhed, Nordforsaa, Nord-Rollnes, Nygård, Nylund, Nymoen, Nyrud, Opdal, Orhaugen, Osvold, Paalsletten, Parten, Petersborg, Pollen, Poulsletten, Renså, Rensvoll, Rognlien, Rollnes, Rørskoven, Rydjen, Ryet, Rysletten,Saltvann, Sandnes, Segelsten, Seglstein, Selend, Seljeskoken, Selnes, Selseth, Seter, Sjøvollen, Skarsletten, Skifte, Skogen, Skoglund, Skovly, Solås, Solbakken, Solheim, Sollien, Solnakken, Solvoll, Sortebekken, Staten, Stilseth, Stivolden, Storelvfossen, Stormoen, Storskog, Strand, Straumen, Stræte, Strømnes, Svartholte, Svenberg, Syrvika, Sæterlund, Teistevoll, Thomashaugen, Tjuvskjær, Toftesletten, Tortenvik, Uren, Utsikten, Vasskaret, Vik, Viken, Vasøse, Aarvik, Øverland

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Historical Society[edit | edit source]

Ibestad Historielag

References[edit | edit source]

-Eriksen, Hilmar: Det Gamle Astafjord og Ibestad, Bind 2 Gårder og Slekter.  Tromsø 1962