To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ickham, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ickham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ickham, Kent
Ickham St John the Evangelist Kent.jpg
Ickham St John the Evangelist Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Downhamford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1570
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ICKHAM (St. John the Evangelist), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Downhamford, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 1¾ mile NW by N from Wingham. [1]

Ickham is a village and part of the civil parish of Ickham and Well, see Ickham and Well Wikipedia

Ickham St John the Evangelist is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and is part of the Littlebourne Benefice including Littlebourne, Kent, Wickhambreaux, Kent and Stodmarsh, Kent; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The church of St John, The Street, Ickham and Well has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 167-179 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ickham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Ickham Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1557-1859 1557-1859 1559-1921; 1754-1902 (Banns) 1559-1921; 1754-1902 (Banns) 1557-1886 1557-1886

Kent Online Parish Clerks

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Ickham are available at FamilySearch Records.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


  • See 1911 census [1]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Ickham on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 600-603. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.