Icomb, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Icomb, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ICCOMB (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Stow, Upper division of the hundred of Slaughter, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 3 miles (S. E.) from Stow;The living is a rectory, valued in the king's books at £8; net income, £149; patrons, the Dean and Chapter of Worcester.
In John Marius Wilson, described Icomb like this:
ICCOMB, a parish in Stow-on-the-Wold district, Gloucester; on the verge of the county, 2 miles SE of Stow-on-the-Wold r. station. It comprises the hamlets of Iccomb and Church-Iccomb, -the latter formerly in Worcestershire; and its post town is Stow-on-the-Wold, under Moreton-in-the-Marsh.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Icomb, Worcestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)|
|Icomb, Worcestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date adapted and accessed: 10 October 2013.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date adapted and accessed: 10 October 2013.
- 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 5 May 2014.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.