To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ide Hill, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ide Hill, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ide Hill, Kent
Ide Hill St Mary Kent.jpg
Ide Hill St Mary Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: Not Known
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

IDE HILL, a chapelry, in the parish of Sundridge, union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 3¾ miles WSW from Seven-Oaks.[1]

Ide Hill is a village within the civil parish of Sundridge with Ide Hill See Ide Hill Wikipedia and Sundridge with Ide Hill Wikipedia

Ide Hill St Mary is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed in 1818 from Sundridge, Kent Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester.

The village had a chapel in 1807, built by the then Bishop of London; St Mary's church was built in 1865 and "has the distinction of being the highest church in Kent" [The Kent Village Book], as well as boasting a beautiful lychgate, crafted by local builder Cecil 'Dusty' Boakes. See also Kent Churches website

The National Trust garden at Emmet's Hill was laid out in the 19th century and the stone bench near the church commemorates the Trust founders Octavia Hill.

Ide Hill Octavia Hill Bench Kent.jpg

The church is part of the united benefice of Sundridge, Kent with Ide Hill and Toy's Hill whose three churches serve the benefice.

Other places of worship included:

Calvinist Ark, Ide Hill. (1840-1941)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Sundridge, Kent Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Ide Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Ide Hill Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1837-1919
1853-1919
1853-1918
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers: no results found

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


  • See also the 1911 census [1]

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 600-603. Date accessed: 15 August 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch