Ifield, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Ifield, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Horsham|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
IFIELD (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Horsham, hundred of Burbeach, though locally in that of Singlecross, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1¾ mile (W.) from Crawley;Here is a place of worship for the Society of Friends.
Ifield St Margaret of Antioch is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex, part of the parish boundary forms part of the county boundary with neighbour Charlwood, Surrey
The history of the church is found at Sussex Parish Churches Ifield St Margaret
Other places of worship in Ifield include:
Elim Pentecostal Church, Langley Green
Freinds Meeting House
Our Lady Queen of Heaven, Langley Green
St Alban, Gossops Green
St Leonard, Langley Green
St Mary Magdalene, Bewbush
St Theodore of Canterbury, Gossops Green
Trinity United Reformed Church
see Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) Ifield West Sussex
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Horsham registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ifield, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|IFIELD PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ifield
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.