Ightfield, Shropshire Genealogy
Guide to Ightfield, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Shropshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Wem|
|Parish registers: 1557|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1682|
|Rural Deanery||Market Drayton|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Shropshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
IGHTFIELD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Wem, Whitchurch division of the hundred of North Bradford, N. division of Shropshire, 4¼ miles (S. E. by E.) from Whitchurch. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ightfield, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Ightfield, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1682-1830 Marr 1682-1830 Bur 1682-1830 Parish registers for Ightfield Microfilm of original records at the Shropshire County Record Office, Shrewsbury.Shropshire Record Office no.: 975/1/1-6, 8
Baptisms, marriages, burials 1557-1767 Baptisms, burials 1768-1812 Notebook recording births and deaths 1669-1765 (This notebook is severely damaged, and is nearly all illegible!) FHL BRITISH Film 1886132 Items 6-10
Baptisms 1813-1882 Burials 1813-1900 Marriages 1813-1900, 1755-1809 Banns 1823-1900 FHL BRITISH Film 1657565 Items 29-34
Bishop's transcripts for Ightfield Microfilm of original records in the Lichfield Joint Record Office, Stafford.
Baptisms, marriages and burials 1634-1810. FHL BRITISH Film 429027 Item 1
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1813-1830. FHL BRITISH Film 502932 Item 2
Parish chest records, 1738-1861 Microfilm copy of original records in the Shropshire County Record Office, Shrewsbury.
Shropshire Record Office no.: 2477/1/5; 975/1/9
Churchwardens' accounts 1845-1861 FHL BRITISH Film 1657785 Item 17
Overseers' accounts 1738-1791 FHL BRITISH Film 1911429 Item 1
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 603-608. Date accessed: 19 June 2012.
- 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.