Illinois Colonial Records

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Illinois Wiki Topics
Illinois flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Illinois Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Online Records[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

French missions were founded in Illinois during the late 17th century; Fort Crevecoeur (Peoria) in 1680, Cahokia in 1699, and Kaskaskia in 1703. Illinois was controlled by the French until 1763 when it was ceded to England. Illinois was a county of Virginia from 1778-1784, and became part of the Northwest Territory in 1787. It became the Illinois Territory in 1809 before becoming a state in 1818.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Records and Sources[edit | edit source]

Ecclesiastical Records[edit | edit source]

Because of French colonization and missions, some parish registers for colonial Illinois are available. These can be found at the following locations:

  • Diocese of Vincennes. This Diocese covered both Illinois and Indiana.
  • Kaskaskia Parish Registers
  • National Archives of Canada in Ottawa, Ontario. Copies of Illinois Mission parish registers are available at the archives, originals are located at the French National Archives in Section Outre-Mer, Paris.

Other[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Christina K. Schaefer, Genealogical encyclopedia of the colonial Americas : a complete digest of the records of all the countries of the Western Hemisphere (Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Publishing Company, c1998), 579. WorldCat (Other Libraries); FHL book 929.11812 D26 1998