Illinois, United States Genealogy
|Illinois Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
This article is about the U.S. state of Illinois. For other uses, see Illinois (disambiguation).
Illinois Information[edit | edit source]
Illinois became the twenty-first state admitted to the United States on December 3, 1818. Illinois was created form Illinois Territory and is located in the Midwestern region of the United States. The capital is Springfield and there are 102 counties in Illinois. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Illinois Research
Links to articles on getting started with Illinois research.
Illinois Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Illinois research.
Illinois Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
- Gallatin *
- Jo Daviess
- Rock Island
- St. Clair
Illinois Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
- Illinois River
- Mississippi River
- Ohio River
- Wabash River
- Lake Michigan
- Buffalo Trace
- Chicago-Dubuque Highway
- Chicago-Kaskaskia Road
- Detroit-Chicago Road
- Kellog Trail
- Mihoaukee Trail
- Nashville-Saline River Trail
- National Road (or Cumberland Road)
- Old Chicago Road
- Pecatonica Trail
- Russellville-Shawneetown Trail
- Illinois and Michigan Canal
- Santa Fe Railway
- Great Northern Railway (U.S.)
- Illinois Central Railroad
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Illinois genealogy sites on the internet
- Illinois Genealogy Trails - Collection of transcribed data for the state of Illinois
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Illinois
- The Ancestor Hunt - Resources for Illinois genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Illinois
- Illinois Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Every Name Index
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Illinois " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Illinois (accessed 16 March 2016).
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 1 Nov 2016.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.