Inverness-shire Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Inverness Wiki Topics
Inverness.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources

For a list of archives and libraries on the national level, go to the Scotland Archives and Libraries page.

Archives[edit | edit source]

Highland Archive Centre (Tasglann na Gàidhealtachd)
Bught Road
Inverness IV3 5SS UK
Telephone: 01463 256444
Email: archives@highlifehighland.com
Website: Highland Archive Centre

The Highland Archive Centre at Bught Road, Inverness is responsible for collecting, preserving, and making accessible, archives relating to the history of the Highlands. The archive collections at the Highland Archive Centre date from the 14th century to the present day covering the counties of Inverness, Nairn, Ross and Cromarty, and Sutherland.

Lochaber Archive Centre (Tasglann Loch Abar)
Alexander Ross House
Achintore Road
Fort William PH33 6RQ UK
Telephone: 01463 256444
Email: lochaber.archives@highlifehighland.com
Website: Lochaber Archive Centre

As part of the Highland Archive Service, the Lochaber Archive Centre at Fort William is responsible for locating, preserving and making accessible documents relating to all aspects of Highland history. The Lochaber Archive Centre collects and preserves archives relating to Lochaber, dating from the 17th century to the present.

Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre (Tasglann an Eilein Sgitheanaich & Loch Aillse)
Elgin Hostel
Dunvegan Road
Portree IV51 9EE UK
Telephone: 01478 614078
Email: skyeandlochalsh.archives@highlifehighland.com
Website: Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre

As part of the Highland Archive Service, the Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre in Portree is responsible for archives relating to Skye and Lochalsh. The records date from the 17th century to the present, and are strongest from the mid-19th century.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Ardersier Library
Station Road
Ardersier IV2 7SU UK
Telephone: 01667 460397
Email: ardersier.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Ardersier Library

Ardnamurchan Community Library
Ardnamurchan High School
Strontian
Acharaile PH36 4JA UK
Telephone: 01397 709226
Email: ardnamurchan.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Ardnamurchan Community Library

Aviemore Library
Muirton
Aviemore PH22 1SF UK
Telephone: 01479 813141
Email: aviemore.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Aviemore Library

Badenoch Library
Badenoch Centre
Spey Street
Kingussie PH21 1EH UK
Telephone: 01540 661596
Email: badenoch.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Badenoch Library

Beauly Library
Station Road
Beauly IV4 7EH UK
Telephone: 01463 782930
Email: beauly.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Beauly Library

Broadford Library
Old Quarry Industrial Estate
Broadford, Isle of Skye IV49 9AB UK
Telephone: 01471 820522
Email: broadford.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Broadford Library

Caol Library
Glenkingie St
Caol
Fort William PH33 7DP UK
Telephone: 01397 709643
Email: caol.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Caol Library

Castlebay Community Library
Castlebay School
Castlebay, Isle of Barra HS9 5XD UK
Telephone: 01871 817200
Email: castlebaylibrary@cne-siar.gov.uk
Website: Castlebay Community Library

Culloden Library
Keppoch Rd
Culloden
Inverness IV2 7LL UK
Telephone: 01397 709643
Email: culloden.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Culloden Library

Daliburgh Library
Daliburgh
Isle Of South Uist HS8 5SS UK
Telephone: 01878 700882
Website: Daliburgh Library

Fort William Library
2 High Street
Fort William PH33 6EU UK
Telephone: 01397 703552
Email: fortwilliam.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Fort William Library

Glenurquhart Library and Learning Centre
Glen Urquhart High School
Drumnadrochit
Inverness IV63 6XA UK
Telephone: 01456 459223
Email: glenurquhart.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Glenurquhart Library and Learning Centre

Inshes Library
Inshes Road
Inverness IV2 3RF UK
Telephone: 01463 725928
Email: inshes.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Inshes Library

Inverness Library
Farraline Park
Inverness IV1 1NH UK
Telephone: 01463 236463
Email: inverness.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Inverness Library

Kinlochleven Community Library
Riverside Rd
Kinlochleven PH50 4QH UK
Telephone: 01855 832047
Email: kinlochleven.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Kinlochleven Community Library

Knoydart Library
The Store
Inverie
Knoydart, Mallaig PH41 4PL UK
Telephone: 01687 460253
Email: knoydart.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Knoydart Library

Lionacleit Community Library
Sgoil Lionacleit
Lionacleit, Isle of Benbecula HS7 5PJ UK
Telephone: 01870 603691
Email: LionacleitLibrary@cne-siar.gov.uk
Website: Lionacleit Community Library

Mallaig Library
Mallaig & Morar Community Centre
A830
West Bay, Mallaig PH41 4PX UK
Telephone: 01687 460097
Email: mallaig.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Mallaig Library

Portree Community Library
Viewfield Rd
Portree IV51 9ET UK
Telephone: 01478 614823
Email: portree.library@highlifehighland.com
Website: Portree Community Library

Tarbert Community Library
Sir E. Scott School
Tarbert, Isle of Harris HS3 3BG UK
Telephone: 01859 502971
Email: fmmorrison1b@gnes.net
Website: Tarbert Community Library

For a list of Inverness-shire libraries, go to List of libraries in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll down to Eilean Siar and Highland. The parishes in historic Inverness-shire are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Clan Cameron Museum
Achnacarry
Spean Bridge PH34 4EJ UK
Telephone: 07900 217975
Email: curator@clancameronmuseum.co.uk
Website: Clan Cameron Museum

Clan Macpherson Museum
Main Street
Newtonmore PH20 1DE UK
Telephone: 01540 673332
Email: Museum@clan-macpherson.org
Website: Clan Macpherson Museum

Glengarry Heritage Centre
Glengarry Community Hall
Invergarry PH35 4HG UK
Telephone: 01809 501424/501421
Email: glengarryheritage@outlook.com
Website: Glengarry Heritage Centre

Highland Folk Museum
Newtonmore PH20 1AY UK
Telephone: 01540 673551
Email: highland.folk@highlifehighland.com
Website: Highland Folk Museum

Inverness Museum and Art Gallery
Castle Wynd
Inverness IV2 3EB UK
Telephone: 01463 237114
Email: Inverness.museum@highlifehighland.com
Website: Inverness Museum and Art Gallery

Kildonan Museum
Isle of South Uist HS8 5RZ UK
Telephone: 01878 710343
Email: admin@kildonanmuseum.co.uk
Website: Kildonan Museum

Land, Sea and Islands Centre
Arisaig PH39 4NU UK
Telephone: 01687 450771
Email: lsic@arisaigcommunitytrust.org.uk
Website: Land, Sea and Islands Centre

Mallaig Heritage Centre
Station Road
Mallaig PH41 4PY UK
Telephone: 01687 462085
Email: curator@mallaigheritage.co.uk
Website: Mallaig Heritage Centre
Website #2: Mallaig Heritage Centre

Museum nan Eilean
Sgoil Lionacleit
Isle of Benbecula HS7 5PJ UK
Telephone: 01870 603692
Email: museumU&B@cne-siar.gov.uk
Website: Museum nan Eilean

Taigh Chearsabhagh Museum & Arts Centre
Lochmaddy, North Uist HS6 5AA UK
Telephone: 01870 603970
Email: info@taigh-chearsabhagh.org
Website: Taigh Chearsabhagh Museum & Arts Centre

West Highland Museum
Cameron Square
Fort William PH33 6AJ UK
Telephone: 01397 702169
Email: info@westhighlandmuseum.org.uk
Website: West Highland Museum

For a list of Inverness-shire museums, go to List of museums in Scotland in Wikipedia. Scroll down to Highland and Outer Hebrides. The parishes in historic Inverness-shire are listed in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.