Ireland Directories

Ireland Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Historic Ireland (pre-1922) Wiki Topics
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Directories Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Jewish Records Heraldry Land & Property Military Records	Naturalization & Citizenship Newspapers Nobility Occupations Online Records Periodicals Poorhouses, Poor Law, Etc. Probate Records Record Loss Religious Records School Records Taxation Websites
Cultural Groups
Scots Irish
Northern Ireland (post-1922) Wiki Topics
Record Types
Cemeteries District Registrars	Census Probate Records
Ireland Background
Biography Church History Gazetteers History Languages	Law and Legislation Maps Names, Personal For Further Reading
Ireland Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Ireland

Directories

Royal Avenue Belfast

Directories are alphabetical lists of names with corresponding addresses. Knowing an individual's address can be very helpful in searching the census records of a large city (see Ireland Census). The information in directories is for the year they are published. Directories for Dublin first appeared in the early eighteenth century and continue today. Provincial (town) directories began somewhat later and have continued only sporadically. Besides names and addresses, directories sometimes include:

• City maps.
• Indexes or listings of inhabitants by streets.
• Addresses of schools, churches, cemeteries, and other institutions.
• Streets and the civil parishes they are in.

Inclusion or omission in directories of successive years may indicate when a person moved to or left a city, retired, or died. Not everyone was listed in directories, but those who had a trade or were of a higher social status were generally listed.

The following types of directories may be found for areas of Ireland:

• City, Postal or Commercial directories, which provide alphabetical lists of people.

• Trade directories, which provide alphabetical lists of trades and professions with the names and sometimes residential addresses of persons engaged in those trades or professions.

• Court directories, which list government officials and private (upper-class) residents.

• Law directories, which name judges, lawyers, notaries, and staff of various courts.

• Telephone directories, which give names, addresses, and telephone numbers of individuals and businesses.

• Specialty or Professional directories, which were occasionally published for various occupations.

• Organizational directories, which list addresses of societies, libraries, newspapers, and other organizations.

• Church directories, which give information about and addresses for church jurisdictions, buildings, and leaders (see Ireland Church Directories).

For a list of Irish directories and a summary of the information contained in each, consult:

Ffolliott, Rosemary, and Donal F. Begley. "Guide to Irish Directories." In Irish Genealogy: A Record Finder

The Family History Library has many Irish directories. These are listed in the Place Search of the catalog under the following headings:

IRELAND - DIRECTORIES

IRELAND, [COUNTY] - DIRECTORIES

IRELAND, [COUNTY], [CITY] - DIRECTORIES

Additional city directories listing major cities in Ireland i.e. Belfast, Dublin, Londonderry (Derry), Cork etc., also cover major cities in England, Scotland and Wales. In some instances, these are not cataloged to include the cities they cover in Ireland. When a published work covers more than one country in the British Isles, it is cataloged under England as the default location to place it in the collection. To identify other possible directories with Ireland material, look in the Place Search portion of the catalog under the following headings:

ENGLAND - DIRECTORIES

Online Databases

Ireland

• FindMyPast Complete Directory Listing $
• Ireland, The Treble Almanac, 1783-1829 - FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• Ireland, John Watson Stewart, The Gentlemen’s and Citizen’s Almanac, 1814 — index, images available through FindMyPast
• FindMyPast Leet's Directory 2nd Ed. 1814 $
• Ireland, Pettigrew and Oulton, The Dublin Almanac and General Register of Ireland, 1835 — index, images available through findmypast
• Ireland, Dublin, The Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar, 1843 — index, images available through findmypast
• FindMyPast I Slater National Commercial Directory of Ireland 1846 $
• Ireland, James Alexander Henderson, The Belfast and Province of Ulster Directory for 1856 at FamilySearch — index, images available on FindMyPast
• FindMyPast Thom's Irish Almanac and Official Directory 1868 $
• Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1868 at FamilySearch — index, images available through FindMyPast
• FindMyPast Slater's Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland 1870 $
• Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac, 1880 at FamilySearch — index, images available on FindMyPast
• FindMyPast Slater's Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland 1881 $
• FindMyPast Thom's Irish Almanac and Official Directory 1884 $
• Ireland, Thom's Irish Almanac & Official Directory 1884 at FamilySearch — index and images
• Ireland, Thom's Official Directory of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, 1894, Irish Section at FamilySearch — index, images available on FindMyPast
• FindMyPast Slater's Royal National Commercial Directory of Ireland 1894 $
• FindMyPast Thom's Official Directory of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland, Irish Section 1894 $
• Ancestry.com Thom's Official Directory of Ireland 1904 $
• Ireland, Thom's Irish Who's Who, 1923 — index - Free, images available on FindMyPast
• FindMyPast Thom's Official Directory of Ireland 1910 $
• Ireland, Thom's Official Directory, 1910 at FamilySearch — index, images available on FindMyPast

Ireland Provincial Directories

Leinster Province

• FindMyPast Pigot and Co. City of Dublin and Hibernian Provincial Directory 1824 $
• FindMyPast Shearman's Directory of Waterford, Kilkenny, and the Southeast 1839 $

Munster Province

• FindMyPast Shearman's Directory of Waterford, Kilkenny, and the Southeast 1839 $
• FindMyPast Henry and Coughlan's General Directory of Cork and Munster for 1867 $
• FindMyPast Guy's Directory of Munster 1893 $

Ulster Province

• FindMyPast James Alexander Henderson the Belfast and Province of Ulster Directory for 1856 $

City, Postal or Commercial Directories

Antrim

• Google Books Joseph Smith Belfast Directories: Reprint J.R.R. Adams, ed. Merchants in Plenty 1807/8
• Ancestry.com Holden's Annual London and Country Directory, of the United Kingdoms, and Wales, in Three Volumes, for the Year 1811. $
• Ulster Historical Society Belfast Almanack 1820 $
• FindMyPast Matier's Belfast Directory 1835-6 $
• FindMyPast Henderson's Belfast Directory 1850 $
• FindMyPast James Alexander Henderson the Belfast and Province of Ulster Directory for 1856 $

Clare

• Clare County Library Lucas's Directory of Ireland, Ennis 1788
• Clare County Library Leet's Directory of Clare, 1814
• Clare County Library Pigot's Directory of Clare for the towns of Ennis, Killaloe, and Kilrush, 1824
• Clare County Library Hogan's Directory of Kilkee, 1842
• Clare County Library Hogan's Directory of Kilkee, 1863
• Clare County Library Slater's National Directory, 1870
• Clare County Library Bassett's Directory, 1876-6
• Clare County Library Bassett's Directory, 1880-1
• Clare County Library Slater's National Directory, 1881
• FindMyPast Ashe's Limerick and Clare Directory 1891-92 $
• Clare County Library Guy's Directory, 1893

Cork

• Cork Past and Present.IE McDonnell's Cork City Directory 1753
• Cork Past and Present.IE McDonnell's Cork City Directory 1754
• Cork Past and Present.IE McDonnell's Cork City Directory 1755
• Cork Past and Present.IE Lucas's Cork Directory 1787
• Cork Past and Present.IE Holden's Triennial Directory 1805-1807
• Cork Past and Present.IE West's Cork Directory 1809-1810
• Cork Past and Present.IE Pigot's Directory Cork City and County 1824
• Cork Past and Present.IE Finny's Cork Almanack 1830
• Cork Past and Present.IE Jackson's County and City of Cork P.O. General Directory 1842
• Cork Past and Present.IE Aldwell's County and City P.O. General Directory 1844
• Cork Past and Present.IE Slater's Directory of Cork and Cobh 1846
• Cork Past and Present.IE Purcell's Commercial Cork Almanac 1852
• Cork Past and Present.IE Purcell's Commercial Cork Almanac 1855
• Cork Past and Present.IE Slater's Directory of Cork City and County 1856
• Cork Past and Present.IE Laing's Cork Mercantile Directory 1863
• FindMyPast Henry and Coughlan's General Directory of Cork and Munster for 1867 $
• Cork Past and Present.IE Henry and Coughlan's General Directory of Cork and Munster for 1867
• Cork Past and Present.IE Slater's Directory of Cork City and County 1870
• Cork Past and Present.IE Fulton's City of Cork and Queenstown Directory 1871
• Cork Past and Present.IE Wilkies Cork City Directory 1872
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County of Cork 1875-1876
• Cork Past and Present.IE Slater's Directory of Cork City and County 1881
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's Cork City and County Almanac and Directory 1883
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1884
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's Topographical Dictionary of County Cork 1889
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1891
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's Cork City and County Directory 1893
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1897
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1903
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1907
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1910
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1913
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1916
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1921
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1925
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1930
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1935
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1940
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1943
• Cork Past and Present.IE Guy's City and County Almanac and Directory 1945

Down

• FindMyPast George Bassett County Down Guide and Directory 1886 $

Dublin

• FindMyPast Treble Almanack and Dublin Directory 1783 $
• Ancestry.com Wilson's 1820 Dublin Directory $
• From-Ireland.net Wilson's 1820 Dublin Directory
• FindMyPast Wilson's 1820 Dublin Directory $
• FindMyPast Pigot and Co. City of Dublin and Hibernian Provincial Directory 1824 $
• Ireland, Dublin, The Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar, 1843 — index, images available through findmypast
• FindMyPast Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar for 1843 Dublin $
• FindMyPast Ireland Thom's Directory 1844-1900 $
• Ireland, Dublin, The Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar, 1858 — index, images available through findmypast
• FindMyPast Post Office Annual Directory and Calendar for 1858 $
• FindMyPast Thom's Irish Almanac and Official Directory 1868 $
• FindMyPast Thom's Irish Almanac and Official Directory 1884 $

Fermanagh

• FindMyPast Macloskie's Directory of Fermanagh 1848 $

Kilkenny

• FindMyPast Shearman's Directory of Waterford, Kilkenny, and the Southeast 1839 $
• FindMyPast George Bassett Kilkenny City and County Guide and Directory 1884 $

King's

• FindMyPast King's County Directory 1890 $

Limerick

• Limerick City.IE Limerick Street Directories 1769-1976
• FindMyPast Ashe's Limerick and Clare Directory 1891-92 $
• FindMyPast Guy's Limerick Directory 1912 $

Louth

• FindMyPast George Bassett Louth County Guide and Directory 1886 $

Sligo

• FindMyPast Sligo Chronicle Almanac and Directory for 1878 $
• FindMyPast Sligo Independent Newspaper, County Directory, Almanac and Guide 1889 $

Waterford

• FindMyPast Shearman's Directory of Waterford, Kilkenny, and the Southeast 1839 $
• FindMyPast Harvey's Waterford Almanac and Directory for 1866 $

Wexford

• FindMyPast George Bassett Wexford County Guide and Directory 1885 $

Specialty or Professional Directories

Leather

• Fáilte Romhat Kelly's Directory of the Leather Trades in Ireland 1915

Medical

• Ancestry.com UK and Ireland Medical Directories, 1845-1942 $
• FindMyPast Ireland Medical Directory 1852 $
• FindMyPast Ireland Medical Directory 1858 $, FS Index - Ireland, Medical Directory for Ireland, 1858

Trade Directories

• Ancestry.com Ireland 1931 Trade Directory $
• FindMyPast Ireland 1931 Trade Directory $
• Ancestry.com Guinness Business Archive 1824-2002 $

Church Directories

• Ancestry.com UK Directory of Clergy, Church of Ireland 1897 $