Isleham, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Isleham, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Isleham, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staploe
County Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Newmarket
Registration District Newmarket
Records begin
Parish registers: 1566
Bishop's Transcripts: 1675
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1847 - Rochester; Post 1846 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Isleham and Freckenham
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ISLEHAM (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Newmarket, hundred of Staploe, county of Cambridge, 4½ miles W from Mildenhall. There are places of worship for General and Particular Baptists. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Isleham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Isleham Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1675-1841 1675-1836
1675-1842

Parish register transcripts, 1566-1851 at FHL

Isleham, Cambridgeshire, baptisms, 1566-1851; marriages, 1566-1851; banns, 1755-1851; burials, 1566-1851

Bishop's transcripts for Isleham, 1675-1841 have been digitised.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • General Baptist
  • General Baptist New Connexion
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist
  • Primitive Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Isleham on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 623-628. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.